iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Burial Sentences (Morley) & They are at rest (Elgar) by Thomas Morley & Edward Elgar
Image for James Dillon's Nine Rivers

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

James Dillon's Nine Rivers

3 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Saturday 11 December 2010

In this very special edition of Hear and Now celebrating the 60th birthday of influential Scottish composer James Dillon, the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Les Percussions de Strasbourg, Steven Schick and BBC Singers perform the world premiere of James Dillon's seminal cycle, Nine Rivers. Conducted by Jessica Cottis, Simon Joly, and Steven Schick, with sound projection by Carl Faia, Ian Dearden and William Brent, and video projection by Ross Karre. It is scored for a mix of forces and electronics, and lasts over 3 hours. It was written between 1982 and 1999 and the cycle of nine works draw on a web of many different influences and connections to form an ever-changing flow of musical consciousness.

It is divided into three parts, and performed in the City Halls in Glasgow; Part One in the Grand Hall, Part Two for solo percussion, in the Fruit Market, and Part Three in the Grand Hall again. The nine works in order are: Part 1: East 11th St NY 10003 (1982), L'ECRAN parfum (1988), Viriditas (1994), La femme invisible (1989); Part 2: La coupure (1989-2000); Part 3: L'ouvre au noir (1990), Eileadh squaibe (1990), Introitus (1989-1990), Oceanos (1985-1996). Presented by Tom Service.



  1. Image for Radio 3's Fifty Modern Classics

    Radio 3's Fifty Modern Classics

    Artists, musicians and composers introduce fifty key pieces of classical music composed between 1950…

  2. Image for Radio 3’s Composers’ Rooms

    Radio 3’s Composers’ Rooms

    Sara Mohr-Pietsch interviews today’s composers in their rooms and writing spaces, exploring the…

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss