iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for Khatia Buniatishvili

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Khatia Buniatishvili

1 hour
First broadcast:
Monday 01 November 2010

Georgian pianist Khatia Buniatishvili is a current member of the BBC's New Generation Artist scheme, and this is her debut recital at the Wigmore Hall in London.

Her programme includes Schumann's Fantasy in C (Op.17), written in 1836 to help raise money for a public monument to Beethoven, and the 3 movements are shot through with Beethovenian touches. Khatia also performs Liszt's 1st Mephisto Waltz and 3 Movements from "Petrushka", which Artur Rubinstein commissioned from Stravinsky shortly after the end of the First World War.

The recital is Live from the Wigmore Hall in London, and is introduced by Louise Fryer.

Khatia Buniatishvili (piano)

Schumann: Fantasie in C major (Op.17)
Liszt: Mephisto Waltz No.1
Stravinsky: 3 Movements from Petrushka (1921).


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss