iPlayer Radio What's New?
On Now : BBC Proms
2014 Season - Prom 57: Mahler - Symphony No 2 (Resurrection)
Image for Fiona Talkington

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Fiona Talkington

1 hour, 50 minutes
First broadcast:
Sunday 03 October 2010

In today's requests Autumn from Vivaldi's Four Seasons gets a make over from ensemble Red Priest.
Pianist Eric Parkin brings out the gilded colours of the fall in Moeran's Autumn Woods. Also on the programme cellist Steven Isserlis and pianist Stephen Hough join forces in a persuasive and reflective performance of Franck's Cello Sonata in A. Fiona's guest is David Butcher Chief Executive of the Britten Sinfonia.

Music Played

8 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes
  • Image for Antonio Vivaldi

    Antonio Vivaldi Concerto for violin and orchestra RV293 'Autumn'

    Performer: Red Priest

    RED PRIEST RP003, 7 to 9

  • Image for Dmitri Shostakovich

    Dmitri Shostakovich Festive Overture Op.96

    Performer: Scottish National Orchestra, Neeme Jarvi (conductor)

    CHANDOS CHAN X 10088 2

  • Image for Ernest John Moeran

    Ernest John Moeran Autumn Woods; Bank Holiday Monday

    Performer: Eric Parkin (piano)


  • Image for Ayah

    Ayah Russian Folksong - The Cliff

    Performer: The Red Army Choir and Band, Victor Fedorov (conductor)

    NAXOS 8.553154, 12

  • Image for Luciano Berio

    Luciano Berio Folksongs

    Performer: Cathy Berberian (mezzo), Juillard Ensemble, Luciano Berio (conductor)

    BMG 09026 625402, 10 to 20

  • Image for Ástor Piazzolla

    Ástor Piazzolla Melodia en la menor – Canto de Octubre

    Performer: Gidon Kremer (violin)

    NONESUCH 7559799699, 10

  • Image for Georg Philipp Telemann

    Georg Philipp Telemann Der May TWV 20:4

    Performer: Phillis - Ingrid Schmithűsen (soprano), Daphnis - Klaus Mertens (bass)

    CPO 999 673-2, 23

  • Image for César Franck

    César Franck Sonata for Cello and Piano in A Major

    Performer: Steven Isserlis (cello), Stephen Hough (piano)

    HYPERION CDA67376, 8 to 11


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss