iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for 06/09/2010

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


6 hours
First broadcast:
Monday 06 September 2010

The Stavanger Symphony Orchestra perform Schumann and Beethoven, presented by Susan Sharpe

1:01 AM
Schumann, Robert [1810-1856]
Symphony No.1 in B flat major (Op.38) 'Spring'
Stavanger Symphony Orchestra, Steven Sloane (conductor)

1:32 AM
Beethoven, Ludwig van [1770 -1827]
Concerto for piano and orchestra no.5 (Op.73) in E flat major, 'Emperor'
Makoto Ueno (m) (piano), Stavanger Symphony Orchestra, Steven Sloane (conductor)

2:12 AM
Czerny, Carl (1791-1857)
Brilliant polonaise for piano six hands (Op.296)
Kestutis Grybauskas, Vilma Rindzeviciute, Irina Venkus (pianos)

2:25 AM
Schubert, Franz [1797-1828]
Quintet (D.667) in A major "Trout"
Aronowitz Ensemble

3:01 AM
Palestrina, Giovanni Pierluigi da (c.1525-1594)
Sicut cervus - motet for 4 voices
Chorus of Swiss Radio, Lugano, Lorenzo Ghielmi (organ), Alberto Rasi (viola da gamba), Diego Fasolis (conductor)

3:05 AM
Palestrina, Giovanni Pierluigi da (c.1525-1594)
Gloriosi principes terrae for 4 voices (1581)
Maîtrise de Garçons de Colmar, Ensemble Giles Binchois, Ensemble Cantus Figuratus der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, Dominique Vellard (director)

3:09 AM
Palestrina, Giovanni Pierluigi da (c.1525-1594)
Ad te levavi oculos meos
Silvia Piccollo (soprano), Annemieke Cantor (alto), Marco Beasley (tenor), Furio Zanasi (bass), Paolo Crivellaro (organ), Alberto Rasi (viola da gamba), Chorus of Swiss Radio, Lugano, Diego Fasolis (conductor)

3:13 AM
Palestrina, Giovanni Pierluigi da (c.1525-1594)
Fundamenta ejus
Chorus of Swiss Radio (Lugano), Lorenzo Ghielmi (organ), Diego Fasolis (conductor)

3:19 AM
Corelli, Arcangelo (1653-1713)
Sonata da Chiesa in C minor (Op.1 No.8)
London Baroque

3:26 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Two excerpts from Idomeneo, rè di Creta - overture (K.366) & Pas Seul De M. Le Grand from Ballet Music (K.367 No.2)
BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Richard Hickox (conductor)

3:45 AM
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
Tragic Overture (Op.81)
Sinfonia Varsovia, Tomasz Bugaj (conductor)

3:58 AM
Salmenhaara, Erkki (1941-March 2002)
Adagietto for Orchestra (1981)
Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Ralf Sjöblom (conductor)

4:05 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Motet: 'Komm, Jesu, komm!' (BWV.229)
Danish National Radio Choir, Stefan Parkman (conductor)

4:14 AM
Schumann, Robert [1810-1856]
Marchenbilder for viola and piano (Op.113)
Maxim Rysanov (viola) , Evgeny Samoyloff (piano)

4:31 AM
Anon (Italian c.1400)
Istampitta 'Belicha'
Ensemble Unicorn, Michael Posch (recorder & conductor)

4:38 AM
Dufay, Guillaume (c.1400-1474)
Rondeau 'Donnés l'assault'
Bernhard Landauer (countertenor), Ensemble Unicorn, Michael Posch (recorder & conductor)

4:42 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Rondo in D (K.485)
Jean Muller (piano)

4:49 AM
Buxtehude, Dietrich (1637-1707)
Jubilate Domino, omnis terra for alto, viola da gamba and continuo (BuxWV.64)
Zoltán Gavodi (counter tenor), The Sonora Hungarica Consort

5:01 AM
Scarlatti, Alessandro (1660-1725)
Toccata in F major
Rinaldo Alessandrini (harpsichord)

5:07 AM
Liszt, Franz (1811-1886), transcr. Dohnányi, Ernst von
Fantasia and Fugue on B.A.C.H.
Ernst von Dohnányi (1877-1960) (piano)

5:19 AM
Dohnányi, Ernõ (1877-1960)
keringo from the incidental music to Pierrette fatyla by Arthur Schnitzler
Central Woodwind Orchestra of the Hungarian Army, Frigyes Hidas (conductor)

5:26 AM
Chopin, Fryderyk [1810-1849]
24 Preludes for piano (Op.28)
Cédric Tiberghien (piano)

6:05 AM
Bach, Johann Christian (1735-1782)
Quintet in D major (Op.11 No.6)
Musica Petropolitana

6:22 AM
Rossini, Gioachino (1792-1868)
Overture The Barber of Seville
Polish Radio Orchestra, Wojciech Rajski (conductor)

6:30 AM
Turina, Joaquín (1882-1949)
Danzas Fantasticas (Op.22)
The West Australian Symphony Orchestra, Jorge Mester (conductor)

6:46 AM
Granados, Enrique (1867-1916)
La Maja y el Ruiseñor - from Goyescas
Marilyn Richardson (soprano), Queensland Symphony Orchestra, Vladimir Kamirski (conductor)

6:53 AM
Schütz, Heinrich (1585-1672)
O primavera, gioventù de l'anno
Cantus Cölln, Konrad Junghänel (lute and director).


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss