Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


Jonathan Swain presents rarities, archive and concert recordings from Europe's leading broadcasters

1:01 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Trio for piano and strings in C major (K.548)
Kungsbacka Trio

1:20 AM
Schumann, Robert (1810-1856)
Piano Trio No.1 in D minor (Op.63)
Kungsbacka Trio

1:52 AM
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
Quartet for piano and strings No.1 (Op.25) in G minor
Laurence Power (viola), Kungsbacka Trio

2:34 AM
Beethoven, Ludwig van (1770-1827)
Symphony No.8 in F major (Op.93)
BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Richard Hickox (conductor)

3:01 AM
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Il'yich (1840-1893)
Serenade in C major for strings (Op.48)
Danish Radio Concert Orchestra, Hannu Koivula (conductor)

3:33 AM
Scarlatti, Alessandro (1660-1725)
Stabat Mater (1724)
Valeri Popova (soprano), Penka Dilova (mezzo-soprano), Tolbuhin Children's Chorus, Bulgarian National Radio Sinfonietta, Dragomir Nenov (conductor)

4:15 AM
Hartmann, Johan Peter Emilius (1805-1900)
Deux Pièces caracteristiques, Op.25
Nina Gade (piano)

4:28 AM
Auber, Daniel-Francois-Esprit (1782-1871)
Overture 'Le Cheval de bronze'
Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra, Stefan Robl (conductor)

4:37 AM
Machaut, Guillaume de (c.1300-1377)
Ballade 32, 'Ploures, dames, ploures vostre servant' - from Le Veoir Dit
Oxford Camerata [Robin Blaze, Robert Rice, Richard Wyn Roberts, Matthew Brook], Jeremy Summerly (conductor)

4:46 AM
Pergolesi, Giovanni Battista (1710-1736)
Concerto for violin, strings and continuo in B flat
András Keller (violin), Concerto Köln

5:01 AM
Strauss, Johann jr. (1825-1899), arr. Schoenberg
Rosen aus dem Suden (Roses from the South)
Canadian Chamber Ensemble, Raffi Armenian (conductor)

5:10 AM
Chopin, Fryderyk (1810-1849)
Four Mazurkas
Ashley Wass (piano)

5:20 AM
Alpaerts, Flor (1876-1954)
Avondmuziek [1915]
I Solisti del Vento, Ivo Hadermann (conductor)

5:30 AM
Strauss, Richard (1864-1949)
Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche (Op.28)
BBC Philharmonic, Yan Pascal Tortelier (conductor)

5:45 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Exsultate, jubilate - motet for soprano and orchestra (K.165)
Kiri Te Kanawa (soprano), Netherlands Radio Philharmonic, Kent Nagano (conductor)

6:00 AM
Grieg, Edvard Hagerup (1843-1907)
Peer Gynt - suite no. 1 (Op. 46)
Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Ole Kristian Ruud (conductor)

6:24 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Cantata: 'Ich hatte viel Bekümmernis' (BWV.21)
Antonella Balducci (soprano), Frieder Lang (tenor), Fulvio Bettini (baritone), Solisti e Chorus of Swiss-Italian Radio and Ensemble Vanitas, Lugano, Diego Fasolis (conductor).

Release date:

6 hours

Last on

Fri 3 Sep 2010 01:00