iPlayer Radio What's New?
On Now : Late Junction
Playing: Sanam Mere Sanam by Amit Kumar and Alka Yagnik
Image for 25/08/2010

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


6 hours
First broadcast:
Wednesday 25 August 2010

Jonathan Swain presents rarities, archive and concert recordings from Europe's leading broadcasters

1:01 AM
Haydn, (Franz) Joseph (1732-1809)
Trio for keyboard and strings no. 7 in G H..XV.41
Zsolt Balog (harpsichord), Dániel Papp (violin), György Deák (cello)

1:20 AM
Haydn, (Franz) Joseph (1732-1809)
Trio for keyboard and strings no 5 in G minor H.XV:1
Zsolt Balog (harpsichord), Dániel Papp (violin), György Deák (cello)

1:33 AM
Beethoven, Ludwig van (1770-1827)
Symphony No.2 in D major (Op.36)
Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, Manfred Honeck (conductor)

2:06 AM
Haydn, (Franz) Joseph (1732-1809)
Variations for keyboard (H.17.2) in A major
Zsolt Balog (harpsichord)

2:23 AM
Haydn, (Franz) Joseph (1732-1809)
Trio for keyboard and strings no. 10 in A H. XV:35
Zsolt Balog (harpsichord), Dániel Papp (violin), György Deák (cello)

2:36 AM
Haydn, Joseph (1732-1809)
Symphony No.73 in D major 'La Chasse', H.1.73
Radio Bratislava Symphony Orchestra, Ludovít Rajter (conductor)

3:01 AM
Górecki, Mikolaj Junior (b. 1971)
Three Episodes for Orchestra
National Polish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Stanislav Macura (conductor)

3:21 AM
Schumann, Robert (1810-1856)
Kinderszenen for piano (Op.15)
Eun-Soo Son (piano) (female)

3:39 AM
Durante, Francesco (1684-1755)
Concerto per quartetto for strings no.6 in A major
Concerto Köln

3:50 AM
Arriaga, Juan Crisostomo (1806-1826)
Symphony in D major/minor (sic)
Danish Radio Concert Orchestra, Hannu Koivula (conductor)

4:19 AM
Tailleferre, Germaine (1892-1983)
Sonata for harp
Godelieve Schrama (harp)

4:29 AM
Zemlinsky, Alexander von (1871-1942)
Heilige Nacht, Op.2 No.2 (Holy Night)
Jean Stilwell (mezzo soprano), Robert Kortgaard (piano)

4:32 AM
Weill, Kurt (1900-1950) (Text: Ira Gershwin)
Saga of Jenny - from the musical Lady in the Dark
Jean Stilwell (mezzo soprano), Robert Kortgaard (piano), Marie Bérard (violin), Joseph Macerollo (accordion), James Spragg (trumpet), George Kohler (bass), Andy Morris (percussion), Peter Tiefenbach (conductor)

4:37 AM
Verhulst, Johannes (1816-1891)
Overture in C minor 'Gijsbrecht van Aemstel' (Op.3)
Netherlands Radio Symphony Orchestra, Jac van Steen (conductor)

4:46 AM
Lassus, Orlande de (1532-1594)
Omnia tempus habent - motet for 8 voices
Currende, Erik van Nevel (conductor)

4:51 AM
Turina, Joaquín (1882-1949)
Rapsodia sinfonica for piano and string orchestra (Op.66)
Angela Cheng (piano), Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra, Hans Graf (conductor)

5:01 AM
Strauss, Richard (1864-1949)
Das war sehr gut.../Dann aber, wie ich Sie gespürt hab' hier im Finstern steh'n - from the opera 'Arabella', Act 3 final scene
Joanne Kolomyjec (soprano), Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra, Mario Bernardi (conductor)

5:07 AM
Beethoven, Ludwig van (1770-1827)
8 Variations on Mozart's 'La ci darem la mano' (Wo0.28)
Hyong-Sup Kim (male) (oboe), Ja-Eun Ku (male) (piano)

5:17 AM
Wiedermann, Bedrich Anton (1883-1951)
Pastorale dorico
Hans Leenders playing the 1894 Gebrueder Rieger organ in the parish church of Rokytnice v Orlikych horach in E Bohemia (Rieger one of the largest late 19th century Bohemian makers)

5:24 AM
Vivaldi, Antonio (1665-1741)
Concerto in G major for 2 guitars and orchestra
Maya Le Roux-Obradovic & Zoran Krajisnik (guitars), Sinfonietta Belgrade, Aleksandar Vujic (conductor)

5:37 AM
Svendsen, Johan (1840-1911)
Romance for violin and orchestra in G major (Op.26)
Julia Fischer (violin), Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Christopher Warren-Green (conductor)

5:46 AM
Mozetich, Marjan (b. 1948)
Fantasia su un linguaggio perduto for string instruments
Members of the Amadeus Ensemble

6:01 AM
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Il'yich (1840-1893)
Suite No.4 in G major for orchestra (Op.61)
Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra, Kazuhiro Koizumi (conductor)

6:26 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Sinfonia concertante for violin, viola and orchestra in E flat major (K.364)
Igor Oistrakh (violin/conductor), Valery Oistrakh (viola), I Virtuosi di Santa Cecilia.


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss