On Now : Breakfast
Playing: Symphony no. 1 in D major vers. standard, in 4 mvts., 2nd movement; Scherzo by Gustav Mahler
BBC Radio 3
Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Nielsen's 4th Symphony - The Inextinguishable

Tom Service is joined by the BBC Philharmonic and conductor John Storgards to explore Nielsen's 4th Symphony, one of the most stirring and intriguing works the Dane ever composed. Nielsen himself wrote of the piece: Music is life and like it inextinguishable.

1 hour, 45 minutes

Last on

Sun 8 Aug 2010 17:45

Composers A to Z


Visit the extensive audio archive of Radio 3 programmes about Composers and their works.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss