Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


Susan Sharpe presents rarities, archive and concert recordings from Europe's leading broadcasters

1:01 AM
Lubeck, Vincent (1654-1740)
Prelude in D minor
Andrea Marcon (organ)

1:10 AM
Frescobaldi, Girolamo (1583-1643)
Canzon III; Toccata IV 'per l'Elevazione'
Andrea Marcon (organ)

1:21 AM
Bernardo Storace (fl.1664)
Ballo della battaglia for keyboard; Ricercar on a theme by Frescobaldi
Andrea Marcon (organ)

1:34 AM
Pasquini, Bernardo (1637-1710)
Variationi capricciose for keyboard
Andrea Marcon (organ)

1:41 AM
Szollosy, Andres (b. 1921)
Miserere (Psalmus L) e 6 voci
The King's Singers

1:57 AM
Scarlatti, Domenico (1685-1757)
Sonata (Kk.328) in G major
Andrea Marcon (organ)

2:00 AM
Handel, Georg Frideric (1685-1759)
Concerto for organ and orchestra no. 10 (Op.7'4) in D minor
Andrea Marcon (organ), Members of the Venice Baroque Orchestra

2:20 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Prelude and fugue for organ (BWV.543) in A minor
Andrea Marcon (organ)

2:31 AM
Busoni, Ferrucio (1866-1924)
Suite No.2 for orchestra (Op.34a)
Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Esa-Pekka Salonen (conductor)

3:01 AM
Dohnanyi, Erno (1877-1960)
Konzertstuck for cello and orchestra in D major (Op.12)
Dmitri Ferschtmann (cello), Netherlands Radio Philharmonic, Bernhard Klee (conductor)

3:23 AM
Haydn, Joseph (1732-1809)
String Quartet in D major (Op.64 No.5) (Hob.III.63) 'Lark'
Bartok String Quartet

3:41 AM
Kodaly, Zoltan (1882-1967)
Hary Janos Suite (Op.35a)
The Hungarian Radio Orchestra, Tamas Vasary (conductor)

4:05 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Sonata in C major (K.330)
Dang Thai Son (piano)

4:19 AM
Nantermi, Filiberto (d.1605)
Cor mio, deh non languire [Dear heart, I prithee do not waste away] - from Il primo libro de madrigali a cinque voci di Michelangelo Nantermi [Venice 1609] (Filiberto Nantermi's only extant work)
The Consort of Musicke, Anthony Rooley (director)

4:23 AM
Priuli, Giovanni (c.1575-1626)
Cor mio, deh non languire [Dear heart, I prithee do not waste away]
The Consort of Musicke, Anthony Rooley (director)

4:28 AM
Elgar, Edward (1857-1934)
Serenade for Strings (Op.20)
Royal Academy Soloists, Clio Gould (director)

4:40 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Adagio in E major (K.261)
James Ehnes (violin/director); Mozart Anniversary Orchestra

4:49 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750), arr. Stokowski, Leopold (1882-1977)
Toccata and fugue in D minor, BWV.565
Sofia Philharmonic Orchestra, Emil Tabakov (conductor)

5:01 AM
Schubert, Franz (1797-1828)
Overture to "Des Teufels Lustschloss" (The Devil's Castle)
Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra in Katowice, Miroslaw Blaszczyk (conductor)

5:11 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
12 Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman' for piano (K.265)
Lana Genc (piano)

5:21 AM
Nielsen, Carl (1865-1931)
Serenata in vano for clarinet, horn, bassoon, cello and double bass (FS.68)
Kari Krikku (clarinet), Jonathan Williams (horn), Per Hannisdahl (bassoon), Aystein Sonstad (cello), Katrine Aigaard (double bass)

5:29 AM
Haydn, Joseph (1732 - 1809)
Symphony No.59 in A major "Fire"
Budapest Strings, Botvay Karoly (conductor)

5:48 AM
Part, Arvo (1935-)
Fratres for cello and piano (1977)
Petr Nouzovsky (cello), Yukie Ichimura (piano)

6:01 AM
Schubert, Franz (1797-1828)
Sonata (Sonatina) for violin and piano no.1 in D major (D.384)
Tomaz Lorenz (violin), Alenka Scek-Lorenz (piano)

6:15 AM
Glinka, Mikhail Ivanovich (1804-1857)
Kamarinskaya - fantasy for orchestra
Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra, Ludovat Rajter (conductor)

6:22 AM
Marie, Gabriel (1852-1928) (arr.C.Arnold)
La Cinquantaine (Golden Wedding)
Moshe Hammer (violin), Tsuyoshi Tsutsumi (cello), William Tritt (piano)

6:26 AM
Schumann, Robert (1810-1856)
Adagio and Allegro (Op.70)
Arto Noras (cello), Konstantin Bogino (piano)

6:36 AM
Spohr, Louis (1784-1859)
Fantasie and variations on a theme of Danzi in B minor (Op.81)
Joze Kotar (clarinet), Slovene Philharmonic String Quartet

6:43 AM
Fontana, Giovanni Battista (c.1592-1631)
Sonata XVI, for 3 violins & continuo

6:48 AM
Spadi, Giovanni Battista (early c.17th)
Anchor che col partire, Diminution des Madrigals von Cipriano de Rore

6:51 AM
Castello, Dario (first half of c.17th)
Sonata IV, for 2 violins and continuo
Il Giardino Armonico.

Release date:

6 hours

Last on

Sun 1 Aug 2010 01:00