Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Lutoslawski: Symphonic Variations

Stephen Johnson explores two works by Witold Lutoslawski: the Symphonic Variations, his orchestral debut written while the composer was just 25, and the work which established Lutoslawski as an international figure, the Concerto for Orchestra, completed in 1954. Stephen explores the colourful and alluring sound world and influences of the composer. The programme includes musical examples and full performances from both works by the BBC Symphony Orchestra conducted by Krzysztof Urbanski.

Release date:

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Sun 27 Jun 2010 17:00

Composers A to Z


Visit the extensive audio archive of Radio 3 programmes about Composers and their works.