iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Aria: Cara sposa, amante cara from Rinaldo (Act 1 Scene 7) by Georg Frideric Handel
Image for 20/06/2010

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


6 hours
First broadcast:
Sunday 20 June 2010

Jonathan Swain presents rarities, archive and concert recordings from Europe's leading broadcasters

1:01 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus [1756-1791]
Adagio and fugue for strings (K.546) in C minor

1:07 AM
Shostakovich, Dmitry [1906-1975]
Excerpts from 24 Preludes for piano (Op. 34)

1:18 AM
Boskovic, Dijana
Concerto for Strings dedicated to Russian composers

1:31 AM
Barber, Samuel [1910-1981]
Adagio for string orchestra arr. from 2nd mvt of String Quartet

1:37 AM
Haydn, Joseph [1732-1809]
Concerto for violin and orchestra (H.7a.1) in C major
Mikhail Gantvarg (violin)

1:57 AM
Rossini, Gioachino [1792-1868]
Sonata a quattro for 2 violins, cello and double bass no. 3 in C major

2:06 AM
Bartók, Béla [1881-1945]
Romanian folk dances (Sz.68) orch. from Sz.56

2:12 AM
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Il'yich [1840-1893]
Waltz from Serenade for string orchestra (Op.48) in C major

2:16 AM
Vivaldi, Antonio [1678-1741]
Unidentified movement from Concerto for 2 violins, cello and orchestra (RV.578) (Op.3'2) in G minor "L'Estro Armonico"

all items performed by the Soloists of St. Petersburg

2:18 AM
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
Symphony no.2 in D major (Op.73)
Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra; Pedro Halffter (conductor)

3:01 AM
Monteverdi, Claudio (1567-1643)
Vespro della Beata Vergine
Elisabetta Tiso, Monica Piccinini & Lia Serafini (soprano), Carlos Mena (countertenor), Lambert Climent, Lluís Vilamajó & Francesc Garrigosa (tenor), Furio Zanasi (baritone), Antonio Abete & Daniele Carnovich (bass), La Capella Reial de Catalunya, Hespèrion XXI, Jordi Savall (conductor)

3:20 AM
Berwald, Franz (1796-1868)
String Quartet in G minor
Örebro String Quartet

3:51 AM
Szymanowski, Karol (1882-1937)
Preludes for piano, Op.1
Jerzy Godziszewski (piano)

4:11 AM
Strauss, Johann Jr (1825-1899) arranged by Schoenberg, Arnold (1874-1951)
Emperor Waltz (Op.437) (1888)
Canadian Chamber Ensemble, Raffi Armenian (conductor)

4:24 AM
Gershwin, George (1898-1937)
Rhapsody in Blue
William Tritt (piano), Hamilton Philharmonic Orchestra, Boris Brott (conductor)

4:41 AM
Liszt, Franz (1811-1886)
Hungarian Rhapsody no.6 in D flat major
Rian de Waal (piano)

4:49 AM
Boeck, August de (1865-1937)
Dahomeyan Rhapsody (1893)
Flemish Radio Orchestra, Marc Soustrot (conductor)

4:54 AM
Krása, Hans (1899-1944)
Overture for chamber orchestra
Nieuw Ensemble, Ed Spanjaard (conductor)

5:01 AM
Stradella, Alessandro (1644-1682)
Quando mai vi Stancherete
Emma Kirkby (soprano), Alan Wilson (harpsichord)

5:09 AM
Verrijt, Jan Baptist (c.1600-1650)
Flammae Divinae (Op.5) (1649) - No.4: Currite, pastores
The Consort of Musicke

5:13 AM
Gwilym Simcock [(1981- )]
Improvisation on a 'plain-chant like' melody
Gwilym Simcock (piano)

5:21 AM
Goossens, Eugene (1893-1962)
Concertino for double string orchestra (Op.47)
Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Vernon Handley (conductor)

5:35 AM
Suk, Josef (1874-1935)
A Tale of a Winter's evening (Op.9)
Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra, Rudolf Vasata (conductor)

5:51 AM
Vivaldi, Antonio (1678-1741)
Concerto for violin and orchestra (RV.315) (Op.8 No.2) in G minor 'L'Estate' (Summer)
Elizabeth Wallfisch (baroque violin), Australian Brandenburg Orchestra, Paul Dyer (director)

6:00 AM
Anonymous (17th century)
Seven sonatas for organ
Ljerka Ocic (organ of the Franciscan Church in Ksaver, Zagreb)

6:19 AM
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
Trio for viola, cello and piano (Op.114) in A minor
Maxim Rysanov (viola); Ekaterina Apekisheva (piano); Kristina Blaumane (cello)

6:45 AM
Hammerschmidt, Andreas (1611/12-1675)
Suite in G minor/G major for winds - from the collection 'Ester Fleiß'
Hesperion XX, Jordi Savall (director).


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.