Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Polar Bear

Jez Nelson presents Mercury Nominated band Polar Bear, recorded live in concert at The Garage, Islington. Known for their genre-bending approach to music, Polar Bear draw on everything from hip hop to metal, but have their roots firmly in jazz.

The band's 2005 album Held on the Tips of Fingers was shortlisted for the coveted Mercury Music Prize, and recent fourth record Peepers is possibly their strongest to date, with typically off kilter grooves and joyful twisting tunes.

Drummer and composer Sebastian Rochford is joined by Leafcutter John on guitar and electronics, tenor saxophonists Pete Wareham and Mark Lockheart and Tom Herbert on double bass.

Presenter: Jez Nelson
Producer: Robert Abel.

Release date:

1 hour, 45 minutes

Last on

Mon 5 Apr 2010 23:15

Jazz Now

Jazz Now

The new home of contemporary jazz on BBC Radio 3