Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Hebrides Ensemble

Edinburgh-based Hebrides Ensemble is Scotland's foremost contemporary music group and specialises in new, 20th century and 21st century chamber works as well as occasional chamber operas and other music for theatre. Led by the cellist and conductor, Will Conway, the group today features some of the finest chamber musicians in Scotland and Europe including Yann Ghiro (clarinet), Alexander Janiczek (violin), Philip Moore (piano) and Alison Mitchell (flute). Their programme which they will be touring around Scotland in March is inspired by the Italian Commedia del'Arte figure of Pierrot and features a work by Scottish-based composer Sally Beamish who began her career as a viola player in the Raphael ensemble. Her work is strongly informed by this experience and inspired by the colours created when matching solo instruments together in different relationships. Presented by Mary Ann Kennedy

Sally Beamish

The Carnval of Venice (O Mamma mamma cara)

Cello Sonata


Release date:

1 hour

Last on

Thu 4 Mar 2010 13:00