Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Age of Conquest

Seven Ages of Britain Episode 1 of 7

David Dimbleby tells the story of Britain through its art and treasure. The first part of the chronicle begins with the Roman invasion and ends with the Norman Conquest.

David travels throughout Britain in search of the greatest works of art from the time: the mosaics of Bignor Roman Villa, the burial treasure of Sutton Hoo, Anglo-Saxon poetry and Alfred the Great's jewel. He also goes abroad, throughout Europe, to find objects either made in Britain, or which tell us something about our past.

In Aphrodisias, Turkey, he finds the oldest image of Britannia; in Florence, a beautiful illuminated Bible made by Northumbrian monks in the 8th century; in Normandy, the Bayeux Tapestry, now believed to have been made by English nuns. He ends at the Tower of London, now seen as a symbol of Britishness, but originally built by William the Conqueror to subdue the people of England.

Release date:

1 hour

Last on

Thu 2 Jun 2016 01:30

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Seven Ages of Britain


Role Contributor
PresenterDavid Dimbleby
DirectorJonty Claypole
ProducerJonty Claypole
Executive ProducerBasil Comely

Buy online

Buy online

Available on: DVD

From suppliers including: Amazon DVDs,

Where to buy