Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

The Diaries of Tennessee Williams

As part of Radio 4's Capturing America series, Mark Lawson selects short pieces by five American authors.

The diaries of Tennessee Williams reveal a social butterfly whose gregariousness is tempered by self doubt. Assignations with lovers, named only by their initials, pepper the extracts covering his burgeoning career as a writer in the 1930s, the post-golden age of A Streetcar Named Desire and the intimate and moving entries from the latter stages of his life. Throughout, his wit and lightness of touch belie a more troubled soul.

Read by Paul Birchard.

Release date:

15 minutes

Last on

Fri 12 Feb 2010 22:45

4 Stories

4 Stories

Download these highlights and all our programmes via the iPlayer Radio app.

Sample our books and authors Clip Collection

Clips of Books Content

Interviews, previews and reviews

Books website

Books home

Get closer to books with in-depth articles, quizzes and our picks from radio & TV.