Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


Frank Renton presents highlights from Brass in Concert 2009. Defending champions the Cory Band and conductor Robert Childs include new piece ' Into the Light' by Philip Wilby and a spectacular tribute to the King of Swing, Glenn Miller. One of the most coveted prizes at the competition - 'Best New Work or Arrangement', was won this year by Philip Littlemore for his arrangement of O Magnum Mysterium, which was originally written for the Tampa Bay Chorale by Morten Lauridsen. It's played by Leyland with conductor Jason Katsikaris. Conductor Richard Evans has won the title 'Best Conductor' more times than any one else and he leads Brighouse &Rastrick band in a barnstorming arrangement of Henry Mancini's 'It Had Better be Tonight'. The programme ends with the mad dash which is Belford's Carnival March played here by the Flowers Band.

Release date:

30 minutes

Last on

Fri 8 Jan 2010 21:30

BBC Radio 2's Young Brass Award 2017

Daniel Thomas - Young Brass Awards 2016

Find out more about our yearly search for the nation's brightest, young brass musicians.