iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Kyrie, Gloria & sanctus from Missa Scala aretina; De lamentatione Ieremiae Prophetae & Motets by Francisco Valls
Image for Prom 60: Martha Argerich

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Prom 60: Martha Argerich

1 hour, 45 minutes
First broadcast:
Saturday 02 January 2010

In a performance from the BBC Proms 2009 pianist Martha Argerich, performs Ravel's jazz-inspired concerto. Ravel reappears as the orchestrator of Mussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition, and the programme begins with an exotic work composed in 1979 by Canadian Claude Vivier. Huge orchestral forces conjure up the immensity of the cosmos and the piece suggests that human nature is just as vast and unfathomable.

Martha Argerich (piano)
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Charles Dutoit (conductor)

Vivier: Orion
Ravel: Piano Concerto in G
Prokofiev: Symphonic Suite (The Love for Three Oranges)
Musorgsky, orch Ravel: Pictures at an Exhibition.


Listen and Watch

BBC Proms 2013

Watch highlights and catch up on recent performances.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.