Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Presented by Penny Gore.

Canadian pianist Angela Hewitt presents a recital featuring major works by two composers celebrating an anniversary in 2009: the Prelude and Fugue No 1 in E minor and Variations Serieuses by Mendelssohn, and the E flat Sonata Haydn. They are complemented by two baroque keyboard suites by Handel and Bach.

Handel: Suite No 2 in F, HWV427
Bach: English Suite No 6 in D minor, BWV811
Mendelssohn: Prelude and Fugue No 1 in E minor (1841); Variations Serieuses, Op 54
Haydn: Sonata in E flat, H XVI 52.

Release date:

1 hour

Last on

Christmas Eve 2009 13:00