Image for For Art's Sake - The Story of Ballets RussesNot currently available on BBC iPlayer

Duration: 1 hour

Celebrating the achievements of Ballets Russes under Diaghilev's guidance and their continuing influence on dance, art and music today.

The English National Ballet perform extracts from two Ballets Russes' masterpieces, Les Sylphides and Scheherazade, as well as a new version by David Dawson of the iconic Nijinsky ballet Afternoon Of A Faun.

Karl Lagerfeld talks about the influence of Coco Chanel and the design legacy of the Ballets Russes. The music from the period is discussed by great French composer and conductor Pierre Boulez, who is joined by prolific English composer and broadcaster Howard Goodall.

Ninety-five-year-old Frederick Franklin recounts what it was like to see the scandalous ending of Nijinsky's Afternoon Of A Faun, while dancers, musicians, writers, critics, stylists and historians paint a vivid portrait of this unique dance company and discuss the legacy of Diaghilev's genius on the creative arts.

Last on

Sun 3 Jul 2011 23:30 BBC Four

  • Photo: Igor Stravinsky and Vaslav Nijinsky

    Photo: Igor Stravinsky and Vaslav Nijinsky

    Igor Stravinsky and Vaslav Nijinsky, photographed together for the premiere of 'Petrushka', Paris, 1911.

  • Photo: 'Le Train Bleu'

    Photo: 'Le Train Bleu'

    From left to right: Lydia Sokolova (born Hilda Munnings, 1896 - 1974), Anton Dolin (1904 - 1983), Bronislava Nijinska and Leon Woizikowsky in the Diaghilev Ballets Russes production of 'Le Train Bleu'.

  • Russian Season

    Russian Season

    This programme was part of BBC Four's Russian Season, which explored various forms of art from Russia's rich and varied history.

    Find out what else was shown in Russian Season


Ross MacGibbon
Ross MacGibbon


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss