iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Concerto No.10 for 2 pianos and orchestra in E flat major (K.365/316a) by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

A Five-Day Journey

Writer Robert Macfarlane walks along the South Downs, discovering its chalk paths and its ghosts

Last on


5/5 Robert Macfarlane explores the relationship between walking, collecting and creation.

Fri 24 Sep 2010 23:00 BBC Radio 3

See all previous episodes from The Essay

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss