Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Brahms String Quartet in B Flat, Op 67

In a programme coming from the University of Cumbria in Ambleside as part of the Lake Disctrict Summer Music Festival 2009, Stephen Johnson explores Brahms's third and final string quartet in B flat, Op 67, written in 1876 soon after he completed his First Symphony. Brahms's previous quartets, Op 51 Nos 1 and 2, suggest a more classical model and have more of his symphonic drama, but a striking element of the writing in Op 67 is its more conversational or dialogue style.

Stephen is joined by the Kuss Quartet, who illustrate with excerpts and give a complete performance of the quartet.

Release date:

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Sun 8 Nov 2009 17:00

Composers A to Z


Visit the extensive audio archive of Radio 3 programmes about Composers and their works.