Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Prom 26/BBCNOW - Fischer

Presented by Penny Gore.

BBC Proms 2009:

Another chance to hear Felix Mendelssohn's First Symphony, written when he was only 15, and his lyrical Violin Concerto in a performance given at the Royal Albert Hall. The BBC National Orchestra of Wales under principal conductor Thierry Fischer also perform music by distinguished Swiss composer Heinz Holliger - (S)irato is an anguished lament for Holliger's Hungarian teacher Sandor Veress, to whom the piece is dedicated.

The Prom concludes with Prokofiev's ballet score for Romeo and Juliet - selected by the conductor - which reveals all the intimacy, tragedy and tenderness of Shakespeare's drama.

Isabelle Faust (violin)
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Thierry Fischer (conductor)

Mendelssohn: Symphony No 1 in C minor; Violin Concerto in E minor
Heinz Holliger: (S)irato
Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet (excerpts)

Chamber music from the 2009 Edinburgh Festival, including:

Brahms: Sonata in E flat for clarinet or viola and piano, Op 120, No 2
Paul Meyer (clarinet)
Eric Le Sage (piano).

Release date:

3 hours

Last on

Tue 11 Aug 2009 14:00