iPlayer Radio What's New?
On Now : In Tune
Playing: Porgy and Bess - Act 1 sc.1; Summertime by George Gershwin
Image for 26/05/2009

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


6 hours
First broadcast:
Tuesday 26 May 2009

Monteverdi, Claudio (1567-1643): L'Incoronazione di Poppea (The Coronation of Poppea) - opera in a prologue and three acts
Poppaea ...... Danielle de Niese (soprano)
Nero ...... Alice Coote (mezzo-soprano)
Fortune ...... Sonya Yoncheva (soprano)
Cupid ...... Amy Freston (soprano)
Otho ...... Christophe Dumaux (countertenor)
Arnalta ...... Wolfgang Ablinger-Sperrhacke (bass)
Octavia ....Tamara Mumford (mezzo-soprano)
Drusilla ...... Marie Arnet (soprano)
Seneca ...... Paolo Battaglia (bass)
Mercury/Console ...... Trevor Scheunemann (baritone)
Nurse/Friend ...... Dominique Visse (countertenor)
Lady-in-waiting ...... Claire Ormshaw (soprano)
Page ...... Lucia Cirillo (mezzo-soprano)
Lucan ...... Andrew Tortise (tenor)
Glyndebourne Festival Chorus
Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment
Emmanuel Haim (conductor)

Chopin, Fryderyk (1810-1849): Five Preludes for piano, Op 28, Nos 11-15
Krzysztof Jablonski (piano)

Bach, Carl Philipp Emanuel (1714-1788): Sinfonia in D, Wq 183, No 1
Slovenicum Chamber Orchestra
Uros Lajovic (conductor)

Cozzolani, Suor Chiara Margarita (1602-c.1677): O quam bonus es - motet for two voices
Cappella Artemisia
Candace Smith (director)

Ponchielli, Amilcare (1834-1886): Capriccio for oboe and piano, Op 80
Wan-Soo Mok (oboe)
Hyun-Soo Chi (piano)

Sibelius, Jean (1865-1957): Suite champetre, Op 98b
Danish Radio Concert Orchestra
Hannu Koivula (conductor)

Wagner, Richard (1813-1883): Die Meistersinger von Nurnberg (Prelude to Act 1)
Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra
Tamas Vasary (conductor)

Schutz, Heinrich (1585-1672): Magnificat anima mea Dominum, SWV 468
Schutz Akademie
Howard Arman (conductor)

Haydn, Joseph (1732-1809): Keyboard Sonata in D, H XVI 37
Andreas Staier (fortepiano)

Parac, Frano (b.1948): Scherzo for wind
Zagreb Wind Quintet

Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750): Concerto in E for violin and orchestra, BWV 1042
Terje Tonnesen (violin)
Norwegian Chamber Orchestra

Beethoven, Ludwig van (1770-1827): String Quartet in E minor, Op 59, No 2 in E minor (Rasumovsky)
Oslo Quartet

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791): Concerto in F for three pianos and orchestra, K242
Ian Parker, James Parker, Jon Kimura Parker (pianos)
CBC Radio Orchestra
Mario Bernardi (conductor).


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss