Sorry, this episode is not currently available

The Kingdom of Forgetting

Documentary series on the fall of the Iron Curtain and its legacy.

1989 marked the collapse of communism in Eastern and Central Europe and an end to a way of life for millions of people. Having lived through extraordinary times, they tell their stories of life behind the Iron Curtain, looking beyond the headlines of spies and surveillance, secret police and political repression, to reveal a rich tapestry of experience.

In Czechoslovakia, attempts to reform communism were brutally crushed in an invasion by Warsaw Pact allies in 1968. Hard-line rule, known as 'normalisation', was reimposed, where reformers were removed, reforms reversed and history rewritten. The country became known as 'The Kingdom of Forgetting'.

1 hour

Last on

Tue 28 Apr 2009 01:25


Role Contributor
ProducerLucy Hetherington
ProducerPeter Molloy