iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: String Quintet in C major, D956 by Franz Schubert
Image for CBSO/Mackerras

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


2 hours, 15 minutes
First broadcast:
Thursday 26 March 2009

Presented by Catherine Bott.

The City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra perform works by three of the great composers of Viennese classicism with two of today's most celebrated figures of this repertoire - conductor Charles Mackerras, known for his understanding and passion for these composers, and pianist Imogen Cooper, whose refined style is considered to be especially suited to that era.

Imogen Cooper (piano)
City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
Charles Mackerras (conductor)

Haydn: Symphony No 85 (La reine)
Mozart: Piano Concerto No 22, K482
Beethoven: Symphony No 7

Followed a focus on the London Mozart Players:

London Mozart Players
Matthias Bamert (conductor)

Vanhal: Symphony in G minor, G2.


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.