iPlayer Radio What's New?
On Now : Breakfast
Playing: Concerto no. 1 in E minor Op.11 for piano and orchestra: 3rd movement; Rondo by Fryderyk Chopin
Image for Episode 1

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Episode 1

3 hours
First broadcast:
Monday 09 March 2009

Jonathan Swain presents a series showcasing the hugely diverse repertoire of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra under chief conductor Ilan Volkov.

Haydn: Symphony No 44 (Trauer)

Ades: Tevot

Schumann: Piano Concerto
Nelson Freire (piano)

Mahler: Symphony No 6 (Tragic).


Free download

  1. Image for Radio 3 Opera Guides

    Radio 3 Opera Guides

    Radio 3 Guide to the Opera

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.