Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Ancient Music - Strauss and Respighi

Charles Hazlewood is joined by the BBC Concert Orchestra to explore why certain composers have drawn on the past in their music. He considers movements from a rarely-performed ballet suite by Richard Strauss, his Divertimento, which re-works harpsichord pieces by Francois Couperin.

That's followed by Ottorino Respighi's celebrated suite, The Birds, based on renaissance and baroque harpsichord and lute pieces. The programme also includes the third of Christopher Gayford's Codas - his brief look at some of the psychological aspects of listening to music.

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Sun 22 Feb 2009 17:00

Composers A to Z


Visit the extensive audio archive of Radio 3 programmes about Composers and their works.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss