Image for Thu, 11 December 2008 - Part 1

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Thu, 11 December 2008 - Part 1

55 minutes
First broadcast:
Thursday 11 December 2008

From Glasgow's City Halls. Presented by Petroc Trelawny.

Opening the concert is Stravinsky's neo-classical ballet score Jeu de cartes, subtitled A Ballet in Three Deals, which was written while Stravinsky - known to be a keen card player - was visiting America, and the work was premiered there in 1937.

Rachmaninov's Fourth Piano Concerto was also premiered in America - in the 1920s - and although not as well known as his other concertos, it still contains the composer's trademark melodies and romantic harmony.

Yevgeny Sudbin (piano)
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Ilan Volkov (conductor)

Stravinsky: Jeu de cartes
Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 4 in G minor, Op 40 (original version).


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss