Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Vaughan Williams and the Lost Generation

Stephen Johnson is joined by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales and conductor Michael Seal, with violinist Lesley Hatfield and tenor James Gilchrist for an exploration of the English idyll in the light of some of the music to have appeared in the lead-up to the First World War, specifically Butterworth's A Shrophsire Lad and Vaughan Williams's On Wenlock Edge and The Lark Ascending.

Release date:

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Sun 9 Nov 2008 17:00

Composers A to Z


Visit the extensive audio archive of Radio 3 programmes about Composers and their works.