Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Episode 5

Award-winning novelist Janice Galloway's memoir of her impoverished upbringing in 1950s Ayrshire.

Janice is beginning to see potential in her future, but first she must escape the familiar patterns and secrets from the past that threaten to drag her down.

Release date:

18 minutes

Last on

Sat 27 Sep 2008 00:30

4 Stories

4 Stories

Exceptional readings and dramas from 4 Stories.

The Path to Fall Down Seven Times, Get Up Eight

David mitchell compo

David Mitchell describes how a young Japanese boy helped him understand his son's autism.

Sample our books and authors Clip Collection

Clips of Books Content

Interviews, previews and reviews

Books website

Books home

Get closer to books with in-depth articles, quizzes and our picks from radio & TV.