Image for 19/08/2008

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


6 hours
First broadcast:
Tuesday 19 August 2008

With Susan Sharpe.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Piano Trio in C major (K.548)

Weir, Judith (b.1954)
Piano Trio no. 2

Schumann, Robert (1810-1865)
Piano Trio no. 1 in D minor (op. 63)

Schumann, Robert (1810-1865)
Piano Trio no. 2 (op. 80) in F major; 3rd mvt; Im Massiger Bewegung
all Florestan Trio; Anthony Marwood (violin), Richard Lester (cello), Susan Tomes (piano)

Vaughan Williams, Ralph (1872-1958)
A London Symphony (Symphony no.2)
BBC Symphony Orchestra, Leonard Slatkin (conductor)

Mussorgsky, Modest (1839-1881)
Pictures from an Exhibition
Steven Osborne (piano)

Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
Trio for horn, violin and piano in E flat major (Op.40)
Martin Hackleman (horn), Martin Beaver (violin), Jane Coop (piano)

Lithander, Carl Ludwig (1773-1843)
Rondo (Op.8)
Mikael Helasvua (flute), Tuija Hakkila (fortepiano)

Papandopulo, Boris (1906-1991)
Nad grobom ljepote djevojke [By the grave of the Beauty] (Op.39)
Slovenian Chamber Choir, Vladimir Kranjcevic (conductor)

Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Il'yich (1840-1893)
Marche Slave (Op.31)
Slovenian Radio and Television Symphony Orchestra, Marko Munih (conductor)

Liszt, Franz (1811-1886)
Polonaise No.2 in E major from (S.223)
Ferruccio Busoni (1866-1924) (piano)

Henderson, Ruth Watson (b. 1932)
Missa Brevis
Elmer Iseler Singers, Elmer Iseler (conductor)

Vivaldi, Antonio (1678-1741)
Concerto for violin and orchestra (RV.315) (Op.8 No.2) in G minor 'L'Estate' (Summer)
Elizabeth Wallfisch (baroque violin), Australian Brandenburg Orchestra, Paul Dyer (director)

Dukas, Paul (1865-1935)
Esa Tukia (horn), Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Michel Adelson (conductor)

Busoni, Ferruccio (1866-1924)
Kammer Fantasie – Carmen
Valerie Tryon (piano)

Ockeghem, Johannes (c.1410-1497)
Salve Regina
The Hilliard Ensemble, Paul Hillier (bass/director)

Telemann, Georg Philipp (1681-1767)
Viola da gamba sonata in A minor – from Essercizii Musici
Camerata Köln – Rainer Zipperling (solo viola da gamba); Ghislaine Wauters (viola da gamba continuo); Sabine Bauer (harpsichord)

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791) transcr.Joseph Petric
Adagio and rondo in C minor (K.617)
Joseph Petric (accordion), Moshe Hammer & Marie Bérard (violins), Douglas Perry (viola), David Hetherington (cello)

Corelli, Arcangelo (1653-1713)
Sonata for trumpet, two violins & continuo in D major
Crispian Steele-Perkins (trumpet), The King's Consort, Robert King (director)

Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Little preludes (BWV.939-42)
Christophe Bossert (organ)

Haydn, Joseph (1732-1809)
Te Deum in C major (Hob XXIIIc:1)
Netherlands Radio Choir and Chamber Orchestra, Antoni Ros-Marba (conductor)

Nielsen, Carl (1865-1931)
Flute Concerto
Emmanuel Pahud (flute), Stadtorchester Winterthür, János Furst (conductor)

Kabalevsky, Dmitri (1904-1987)
Violin Concerto in C major (Op.48)
Moshe Hammer (violin), Winnepeg Symphony Orchestra, Kazuhiro Koizumi (conductor)

Kraus, Joseph Martin (1756-1792)
Sinfonie in D major (VB.143)
Concerto Köln


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss