Image for Through the Night

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Through the Night

2 hours
First broadcast:
Thursday 20 March 2008

With Jonathan Swain.

Linnala, Eino (1920-1972): Valsette, Op 6 No 1
Eero Heinonen (piano)

Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750): Concerto for oboe and strings in G minor (reconstructed from BWV 1056)
Hans-Peter Westermann (oboe)
Camerata Koln

Chopin, Fryderyk (1810-1849): Etude in F, Op 10 No 8
Ivo Pogorelich (piano)

Chopin: Ballade No 2 in F, Op 38
Witold Malcuzynski (piano)

Sibelius, Jean (1865-1957): Lemminkainen's Return (No 4) (Lemminkainen Suite, Op 22)
BBC Philharmonic Orchestra
Yan Pascal Tortelier (conductor)

Paganini, Niccolo (1782-1840): Introduction and Variations on a theme from Rossini's Mose in Egitto, MS 23
Monika Leskovar (cello)
Ivana Schwartz (piano)

Poulenc, Francis (1899-1963): Figure humaine – cantata for double chorus
Danish National Radio Choir
Stefan Parkman (conductor)

Corelli, Arcangelo (1653-1713): Concerto grosso in D, Op 6 No 4
Europa Galante
Fabio Biondi (violin/director)

Strauss, Johann Jr (1825-1899): Annina, Op 415; Wein, Weib und Gesang (waltz), Op 333; Sans-souci, Op 63; Durch's Telephon, Op 439
ORF Symphony Orchestra
Peter Guth (conductor)

Liszt, Franz (1811-1886): St Francis' Sermon to the Birds (1st of 2 Legends, S 175)
Richard Raymond (piano)

Haydn, Joseph (1732-1809): String Quartet in D, Op 64 No 5 (The Lark)
Yggdrasil String Quartet.


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.