iPlayer Radio What's New?
Wednesday - Sarah Walker with Alexander McCall Smith
Image for Through the Night

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Through the Night

2 hours
First broadcast:
Saturday 06 October 2007

With Jonathan Swain.

Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750): Schmucke dich, O liebe Seele – chorale-prelude for organ, BWV 654
Bine Katrine Bryndorf (Organ of Hjertling Church, Jutland)

Sibelius, Jean (1865-1957): Luonnotar, tone poem, Op 70
Soile Isokoski (soprano)
Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra
Jukka-Pekka Saraste (conductor)

Albrecht, Alexander (1885-1958): Quintet for piano, flute, oboe, clarinet and bassoon, Op 6
Pavol Kovác (piano)
Bratislava Wind Quintet

Rachmaninov, Sergey (1873-1943): 2 pieces for cello & piano, Op 2 (Prélude; Danse Orientale)
Monika Leskovar (cello)
Ivana Svarc-Grenda (piano)

Geminiani, Francesco (1687-1762): Concerto grosso in D minor, Op 7, No 2
La Petite Bande
Sigiswald Kuijken (conductor)

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791): 6 German Dances, K509
Murray Perahia (piano)

Haydn, Joseph (1732-1809): Quartet for strings in G minor, Op 20, No 3
Quatuor Mosaïques:
Erich Höbarth, Andrea Bischof (violin)
Anita Mitterer (viola)
Christophe Coin (cello)

Zelenka, Jan Dismas (1679-1745): Capriccio, ZWV 184, in F
Ekkehard Hering, Wolfgang Kube (oboe)
Andrew Joy, Rainier Jurkiewicz (horn)
Rhoda Patrick (bassoon)
Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin
Bernhard Forck (director)

Beethoven, Ludwig van (1770-1827): Grosse Fuge, Op 133
Slovenian Slovenian Radio and Television Symphony Orchestra
Marko Munih (conductor)

Bach, Wilhelm Friedemann (1710-1784): Sinfonie in F, F67
Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin
Stephan Mai (director).


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss