Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Episode 1

Jean Sibelius (1865-1957)

Donald Macleod commemorates the 50th anniversary of Sibelius's death.

1/5. By the age of 26, Sibelius had already established his reputation with the first of his symphonic masterpieces, marking him out as a standard-bearer of Finnish culture. This programme includes one of his most popular orchestral suites and the first in a line of tone poems that would thread themselves through his career over the next 30 years.

The Kiss's Hope; Spring is Flying; The Dream; The Young Huntsman, Op 13
Anne Sofie von Otter (mezzo-soprano)
Bengt Forsberg (piano)

En Saga
Danish National Radio Symphony Orchestra
Leif Segerstam (conductor)

Accentus Chamber Choir
Eric Ericson (conductor)

Karelia Suite
City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
Sakari Oramo (conductor).

1 hour

Last on

Mon 17 Sep 2007 20:45

Composers A to Z


Visit the extensive audio archive of Radio 3 programmes about Composers and their works.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss