Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Episode 1

George Eliot - Adam Bede Episode 1 of 15

Summer, 1799 in the Staffordshire village of Hayslope, and one of Lisbeth Bede's sons has marriage on his mind.

George Eliot's haunting story of love betrayed and love rewarded dramatised in 15 episodes by Robert Forrest.

An immediate bestseller in 1859, Eliot's second novel established her reputation and paved the way for masterpieces such as The Mill on the Floss and Middlemarch.

Starring Thomas Arnold as Adam, Ann Scott-Jones as Lisbeth, John Kielty as Seth and Victoria Liddelle as Dinah.

Director: Patrick Rayner.

First broadcast on BBC Radio 4 in 2001.

Release date:

15 minutes

Last on

Tue 21 Mar 2017 02:30

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from George Eliot - Adam Bede