BBC National Short Story Award

Stories shortlisted for the National Short Story Award

On radio

There are no upcoming broadcasts of this programme

Last on

All previous episodes


Clips (16)

Buy online
Series and episodes available from online suppliers

This year's award is chaired by BBC Creative Director and presenter Alan Yentob

This year's award is chaired by BBC Creative Director and presenter Alan Yentob

The Award is one of the most prestigious for a single short story, with the winning author receiving £15,000, the runner-up £3,000 and three further shortlisted authors £500 each. The winner will be announced at an award ceremony at Broadcasting House London on the 30th of September and live on Radio 4's Front Row.

The other 2014 judges are:

  • Philip Gwyn Jones, Editor-at Large, Scribe Publications
  • Laura Dockrill, writer, illustrator and performer
  • Poet and novelist, Adam Foulds
  • Di Speirs, Editor, Books, BBC Radio

The winner of the 2013 award was Sarah Hall for her story Mrs Fox.   

Find out more about the 2013 award, its shortlist and judges here.

Booktrust - the BBC's partner in this award

Booktrust is an independent charity that changes lives through reading. We have a vision of a society where nobody misses out on the life-changing benefits that reading can bring.

Lionel Shriver wins the BBC National Short Story Award 2014

The BBC NSSA Shortlist - 2014

BBC NSSA Montage

Biogs & story trailers for the five shortlisted authors

Celebrating the short story

Celebrating the short story

BBC Arts celebrates the short story with a selection of treats from the archive

Related Links

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss