Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Shostakovich Fifth Symphony

Masterworks Episode 4 of 4

Exploring orchestral works of the 20th century. Charismatic Russian conductor Valery Gergiev explores one of the great cultural documents of Stalinist Russia, Shostakovich's Fifth Symphony: A Soviet Artist's Reply to Just Criticism. Written under the shadow of state oppression at the height of Stalin's purges, the symphony re-established Shostakovich as an ideologically sound Soviet composer and remains one of the most popular of all 20th century symphonies.

1 hour, 25 minutes

Last on

Sat 23 Feb 2013 02:35

More episodes


You are at the last episode

See all episodes from Masterworks

BBC Four Modern Classical Music Collection

BBC Four Modern Classical Music Collection
Watch a collection of programmes featuring trailblazing 20th Century classical music composers.

Go to the BBC Four Modern Classical Music Collection


Role Contributor
PresenterValery Gergiev
DirectorFrancesca Kemp
Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss