Choral Evensong

Choral Evensong

Long-running programme presenting live broadcasts of Evensong from around the country

On radio

All upcoming (1 new and 2 repeats)

Future Choral Evensong Schedule

 

Weds 2nd September (rpt. Sun 6th September)

Charles Wood Summer School, Armagh (Recorded Thursday 27th August)

Recorded at the 2015 Charles Wood Summer School in St Patrick's Church of Ireland Cathedral, Armagh

Introit: Oculi omnium (Wood)
Responses: Clucas
Psalms 12, 13, 14 (Mann, Woodcock, Martin, Weldon, Ley)
Office Hymn: O love divine, how sweet thou art (Cornwall)
First Lesson: Song of Solomon 8 vv5-7
Canticles: Wood in E flat No 2
Second Lesson: Mark 7 vv9-23
Anthems: Lord, thou hast searched me out (Rutter) 
Gaelic Blessing (Rutter)
Final Hymn: All my hope on God is founded (Michael)
Organ Voluntary: Fugue from the Sonata on the 94th Psalm
(Reubke)

Director of Music: David Hill
Organist: Philip Scriven

 

Weds 9th September (rpt. Sun 13th September)

King's College, Cambridge (Recorded Tuesday 3rd March)

Choral Vespers for the Feast of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary recorded in King's College Chapel, Cambridge

Introductory Sentences, Antiphons and Psalms 113, 117, 146, 147 (Plainsong)
Hymn: Ave maris stella (John Dunstable)
Magnificat 'Regale' (Robert Fayrfax)
Homily: The Revd Dr Stephen Cherry
Marian Antiphon: Salve Regina (Robert Hacomplaynt)

Director of Music: Stephen Cleobury

 

Weds 16th September (rpt. Sun 20th September)

Old Royal Naval College Chapel

Live from the Old Royal Naval College Chapel, Greenwich sung by the Chapel Choir.

Introit: O, do not move (Tavener)
Responses: Leighton
Psalms 82, 83, 84, 85 (Peasgood, Talbot, Parry, Smart)
First Lesson: 1 Kings 10 vv1-25
Canticles: St Paul's Service (Howells)
Second Lesson: Acts 17 vv1-15
Anthem: Ave Maria (Victoria)
Final Hymn: All my hope on God is founded (Michael)
Organ Voluntary: Prelude and Fugue in C BWV 545 (Bach)

Director of Music: Ralph Allwood
Organist: James Grainger 

 

Weds 23rd September (no repeat)

Portsmouth Cathedral

Details to follow.

 

Weds 30th Spetember (rpt. Sun 4th October)

Lincoln Cathedral

Details to follow.

 

Weds 7th October (rpt. Sun 11th October)

Norwich Cathedral

Details to follow.

 

Weds 14th October (rpt. Sun 18th October)

Merton College, Oxford

Details to follow.

 

Weds 21st October (rpt. Sun 25th October)

Rochester Cathedral

Details to follow.

 

Weds 28th October (rpt. Sun 1st November)

Archive episode - TBA

Details to follow.

 

Weds 4th November (rpt. Sun 8th November)

Southwell Minster

Details to follow.

 

Weds 11th November (rpt. Sun 15th November)

Winchester Cathedral

Details to follow.

 

Weds 18th November (rpt. Sun 22nd November)

New College, Oxford

Details to follow.

 

Weds 25th November (no repeat)

Chichester Cathedral

Details to follow.

 

Sun 29th November (Advent Sunday) (no repeat)

St John's, Cambridge

Details to follow.

 

Weds 2nd December (rpt. Sun 6th December)

Peterborough Cathedral

Details to follow.

 

Weds 9th December (rpt. Sun 13th December)

Gloucester Cathedral

Details to follow.

 

Weds 16th December (rpt. Sun 20th December)

Chester Cathedral

Details to follow.

 

Weds 23rd December (rpt. Sun 27th December)

Archive episode - TBA

Details to follow.

 

Weds 30th December (rpt. Sun 3rd January)

Rodolfus Choir at St Gabriel's, Pimlico

Details to follow.

 

Sally Beamish: Be Still (first performance)

Sally Beamish: Be Still (first performance)

The Choir of King's College, Cambridge, gives the premiere of Sally Beamish's Be Still.