Listen
Freiburg Baroque Orchestra - Concerti a due cori
BBC Radio 3
Choral Evensong

Choral Evensong

Long-running programme presenting live broadcasts of Evensong from around the country

Future Choral Evensong Schedule

Weds 8th July (rpt. Sun 12th July)

Joint evensong with the Choirs of King's College & St John's College, Cambridge (Recorded in King's College Chapel, Cambridge on Thursday 2nd July)

Recorded in King's College Chapel, Cambridge, with King's and St John's College Choirs on the Feast of the Visitation of the Blessed Virgin Mary

Introit: King Henry VI's Prayer (Ley)
Responses: Radcliffe
Psalms 42, 43 (S. Wesley, Anon)
First Lesson: 1 Samuel 2. vv 12-26
Canticles: Collegium Regale (Howells)
Second Lesson: Luke 20. vv 1-8 
Anthem: I was glad (Parry)
Hymn: Glorious things of thee are spoken (Abbot's Leigh)
Te Deum: Collegium Regale (Howells)
Organ Voluntary: Psalm Prelude Set 2 No 3 (Howells)

Directors of Music: Stephen Cleobury and Andrew Nethsingha
Organ Scholars: Tom Etheridge, Richard Gowers, Edward Picton-Turbervill and Joseph Wicks.

 

Weds 15th July (rpt. Sun 19th July)

Genesis Sixteen at St-Martin-in-the-Fields

Live from St Martin-in-the-Fields, London, with Genesis Sixteen

Introit: Almighty and everlasting God (Gibbons)
Responses: Rose
Psalms 76, 77 (Nicholson, Stainer)
First Lesson: Isaiah 33 vv 2-10
Office Hymn: Glory to thee, my God, this night (Tallis's Canon)
Canticles: Tallis for 5 voices
Second Lesson: Philippians 1 vv 3-11
Anthem: Exultate Deo (Poulenc)
Final Hymn: God is Love: let heaven adore him (Blaenwern)
Organ Voluntary: Prelude and Fugue in G minor Op. 7, No 3 (Dupré)

Directors of Music: Harry Christophers, Eamonn Dougan
Organist: Simon Johnson

 

 

Weds 22nd July (rpt. Sun 26th July)

Exon Singers at Buckfast Abbey

Details to follow.

 

Weds 29th July (rpt. Sun 2nd August)

Three Choirs Festival at Hereford Cathedral

Details to follow.

 

Weds 5th August (rpt. Sun 9th August)

Southern Cathedrals Festival at Salisbury Cathedral (Recorded Friday 17th July)

Details to follow.

 

Weds 12th August (rpt. Sun 16th August)

Eton Choral Course at Cheltenham College Chapel

Details to follow.

 

Weds 19th August (rpt. Sun 23rd August)

St Mary's Episcopal Cathedral, Edinburgh

Details to follow.

 

Weds 26th August (rpt. Sun 30th August)

Edington Festival of Music within the Liturgy

Details to follow.

 

Weds 2nd September (rpt. Sun 6th September)

Charles Wood Summer School, Armagh (Recorded Friday 21st August)

Details to follow.

 

Weds 9th September (rpt. Sun 13th September)

King's College, Cambridge (Recorded Tuesday 3rd March)

Details to follow.

 

Weds 16th September (rpt. Sun 20th September)

Old Royal Naval College Chapel

Details to follow.

 

Weds 23rd September (rpt. Sun 27th September)

Portsmouth Cathedral

Details to follow.

 

Weds 30th Spetember (rpt. Sun 4th October)

Lincoln Cathedral

Details to follow.

 

Weds 7th October (rpt. Sun 11th October)

Norwich Cathedral

Details to follow.

 

Weds 14th October (rpt. Sun 18th October)

Merton College, Oxford

Details to follow.

 

Weds 21st October (rpt. Sun 25th October)

Rochester Cathedral

Details to follow.

 

Weds 28th October (rpt. Sun 1st November)

Archive episode - TBA

Details to follow.

 

Weds 4th November (rpt. Sun 8th November)

Southwell Minster

Details to follow.

 

Weds 11th November (rpt. Sun 15th November)

Winchester Cathedral

Details to follow.

 

Weds 18th November (rpt. Sun 22nd November)

New College, Oxford

Details to follow.

 

Weds 25th November (no repeat)

Chichester Cathedral

Details to follow.

 

Sun 29th November (Advent Sunday) (no repeat)

St John's, Cambridge

Details to follow.

 

Weds 2nd December (rpt. Sun 6th December)

Peterborough Cathedral

Details to follow.

 

Weds 9th December (rpt. Sun 13th December)

Gloucester Cathedral

Details to follow.

 

Weds 16th December (rpt. Sun 20th December)

Chester Cathedral

Details to follow.

 

Weds 23rd December (rpt. Sun 27th December)

Archive episode - TBA

Details to follow.

 

Weds 30th December (rpt. Sun 3rd January)

Rodolfus Choir at St Gabriel's, Pimlico

Details to follow.

 

Sally Beamish: Be Still (first performance)

Sally Beamish: Be Still (first performance)

The Choir of King's College, Cambridge, gives the premiere of Sally Beamish's Be Still.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss