Listen
On Now : Breakfast
Playing: Nocturnes by Claude Debussy
BBC Radio 3
Choral Evensong

Choral Evensong

Long-running programme presenting live broadcasts of Evensong from around the country

For schedule details see below.

Future Choral Evensong Schedule

Wed 16th July

York Minster

(rpt Sun 20th July)

Introit: Holy is the true light (Richard Shephard)

Responses: Richard Shephard

Psalms: 82, 84, 85 (Bairstow; Hopkins; Bairstow)

First Lesson: Isaiah 24 vv1-15

Canticles: Andrews in D

Second Lesson: 1 Corinthians 6 vv1-11

Anthem: Praise the Lord, my soul (SS Wesley)

Hymn: Sing choirs of heaven (Scampston)

Organ Voluntary: Psalm Prelude Set 2, No.3 (Howells)

Robert Sharpe (Director of Music)

David Pipe (Assistant Director of Music)

 

Wed 23rd July

Winchester Cathedral during the 2014 Southern Cathedrals Festival sung by the choirs of Chichester, Salisbury and Winchester Cathedrals – recorded Thurs 17th July

(rpt Sun 27th July)

Introit: Sing, my soul, his wondrous love (Ned Rorem)

Responses: Radcliffe

Psalms: 114, 115 (Tonus Peregrinus; Buck)

First Lesson: Isaiah 42 vv5-12

Canticles: Howells in B minor

Second Lesson: Romans 15 vv1-13

Anthem: Welcome, sweet and sacred feast (Finzi)

Final Hymn: There’s a wideness in God’s mercy (Corvedale)

Organ Voluntary: Rhapsody No.1 in D flat major (Howells)

Andrew Lumsden (Director of Music)

George Castle (Assistant Director of Music)

 

Wed 30th July

Worcester Cathedral during the 2014 Three Choirs Festival

(rpt Sun 3rd Aug)

Organ Prelude: A Verse of Three Parts (Tomkins)

Introit: O praise the Lord, all ye heathen (Tomkins)

Responses: Howells

Office Hymn: Come, see the Lord in his breathtaking splendour (Barnard Gate)

Psalm 136 (How)

First Lesson: Isaiah 33 vv2-10

Canticles: Howells in G

Second Lesson: Philippians 1 vv1-11

Anthem: Laudibus in sanctis (Byrd)

Hymn: Cry Freedom in the name of God (Free Indeed)

Organ Voluntary: Toccata giocosa (Mathias)

Peter Nardone (Director of Music)

Christopher Allsop (Assistant Director of Music)

 

Wed 6th Aug

Choral Evening Prayer from Buckfast Abbey, Devon during the 2014 Exon Singers’ Festival – recorded Thurs 31st July

(rpt Sun 10th Aug)

Introit: An Introit for Transfiguration (Robin Holloway) (First performance)

Responses:  Plainsong

Office Hymn: O vision blest of heavenly light (Coelestis gloriae)

Psalms: 97, 121 (Plainsong; Robin Holloway)

First Lesson: 2 Peter 1 vv16-19

Anthem: Christus Jesus splendor Patris (Massaino)

Second Lesson: Matthew 17 vv1-9

Homily: The Rt Revd David Charlesworth, Abbot of Buckfast

Canticle: Magnificat quarti toni (Palestrina)

Lord’s Prayer (Toby Young ) (First performance)

Motet: Ave Maria (Josquin)

Final Hymn: ‘Tis good, Lord, to be here (Carlisle)

Organ Voluntary: Hymne d’Actions de graces: “Te Deum” (Langlais)

Richard Wilberforce (Music Director)

Jeffrey Makinson (Organist) 

 

Wed 13th Aug

St Mary’s Episcopal Cathedral, Edinburgh during the 2014 Edinburgh International Festival

(rpt Sun 17th Aug)

 

Wed 20th Aug

Edington Priory during the 2014 Edington Festival of Music within the Liturgy

(rpt Sun 24th Aug)

 

Wed 27th Aug

The Eton Choral Course at Cheltenham College Chapel - recorded Mon 11th Aug

(rpt Sun 31st Aug)

 

Wed 3rd Sept

The Charles Wood Festival and Summer School at St Patrick's Church of Ireland Cathedral, Armagh - recorded Thurs 21st Aug

(rpt Sun 7th Sept)

 

Wed 10th Sept

Hereford Cathedral

(rpt Sun 14th Sept)

 

Wed 17th Sept

Royal Academy of Music Chamber Choir at Neresheim Abbey, Germany – recorded Fri 5th Sept

(rpt Sun 21st Sept)

 

Wed 24th Sept

Derby Cathedral

(rpt Sun 28th Sept)

 

Wed 1st Oct

Winchester College

(rpt Sun 5th Oct)

 

Wed 8th Oct

Westminster Cathedral

(rpt Sun 12th Oct)

 

Wed 15th Oct

Royal Holloway, University of London

(rpt Sun 19th Oct)

 

Wed 22nd Oct

Chelmsford Cathedral

(rpt Sun 26th Oct)

 

Wed 29th Oct

Royal School of Church Music Millennium Youth Choir at Gloucester Cathedral - recorded Sun 17th Aug

(rpt Sun 2nd Nov)

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss