Listen
Playing: Violin Concerto in D major (Op.35) by Erich Wolfgang Korngold
BBC Radio 3
Choral Evensong

Choral Evensong

Long-running programme presenting live broadcasts of Evensong from around the country

For schedule details see below.

On radio

All upcoming (1 new and 2 repeats)

Future Choral Evensong Schedule

Wed 30th July

Worcester Cathedral during the 2014 Three Choirs Festival

(rpt Sun 3rd Aug)

Organ Prelude: A Verse of Three Parts (Tomkins)

Introit: O praise the Lord, all ye heathen (Tomkins)

Responses: Howells

Office Hymn: Come, see the Lord in his breathtaking splendour (Barnard Gate)

Psalm 136 (How)

First Lesson: Isaiah 33 vv2-10

Canticles: Howells in G

Second Lesson: Philippians 1 vv1-11

Anthem: Laudibus in sanctis (Byrd)

Hymn: Cry Freedom in the name of God (Free Indeed)

Organ Voluntary: Toccata giocosa (Mathias)

Peter Nardone (Director of Music)

Christopher Allsop (Assistant Director of Music)

 

Wed 6th Aug

Choral Evening Prayer from Buckfast Abbey, Devon during the 2014 Exon Singers’ Festival – recorded Thurs 31st July

(rpt Sun 10th Aug)

Introit: An Introit for Transfiguration (Robin Holloway) (First performance)

Responses:  Plainsong

Office Hymn: O vision blest of heavenly light (Coelestis gloriae)

Psalms: 97, 121 (Plainsong; Robin Holloway)

First Lesson: 2 Peter 1 vv16-19

Anthem: Christus Jesus splendor Patris (Massaino)

Second Lesson: Matthew 17 vv1-9

Homily: The Rt Revd David Charlesworth, Abbot of Buckfast

Canticle: Magnificat quarti toni (Palestrina)

Lord’s Prayer (Toby Young ) (First performance)

Motet: Ave Maria (Josquin)

Final Hymn: ‘Tis good, Lord, to be here (Carlisle)

Organ Voluntary: Hymne d’Actions de graces: “Te Deum” (Langlais)

Richard Wilberforce (Music Director)

Jeffrey Makinson (Organist) 

 

Wed 13th Aug

St Mary’s Episcopal Cathedral, Edinburgh during the 2014 Edinburgh International Festival

(rpt Sun 17th Aug)

Introit: Ave Maria (Elgar)

Responses: Rose

Office Hymn: All praise to thee, for thou, O King divine (Engelberg)

Psalms: 69, 70 (Noble; Naylor; Anon)

First Lesson: Judges 13 vv15-24

Canticles: Stanford in C

Second Lesson: Acts 6 vv1-15

Anthem: Give unto the Lord (Elgar)

Final Hymn: Praise to the holiest in the height (Gerontius)

Organ Voluntary: Imperial March (Elgar arr Martin)

Duncan Ferguson (Organist and Master of the Music)

Donald Hunt (Assistant Organist)

 

Wed 20th Aug

Edington Priory, Wiltshire, during the Edington Festival of Music within the Liturgy

(rpt Sun 24th Aug)

Introit: Sweetest of sweets (Howells)

Responses: Smith

Psalm: 34 (Matthew Martin)

First Lesson: Joshua 24 vv14-24

Antiphon: Veni sancte Spiritus (plainsong)

Canticles: St John’s Service (Matthew Martin)

Second Lesson: 1 Peter 2 vv4-10

Anthem: Laetatus sum (Victoria)

Final Hymn: Teach me, my God and King (Sandys)

Organ Voluntary: Dankpsalm (Reger)

Matthew Martin, Peter Stevens and Jeremy Summerly (Choir Directors)

Daniel Hyde (Organist)

 

Wed 27th Aug

The Eton Choral Course at Cheltenham College Chapel - recorded Mon 11th Aug

(rpt Sun 31st Aug)

Introit: Sancte Deus (Tallis)

Responses: Howells

Psalms: 126, 127, 128, 129, 130, 131 (Garrett; Dupuis; West; Walmisley; Walford Davies; Willcocks)

First Lesson: Isaiah 45 vv1-7

Office Hymn: O blest Creator of the light (Lucis Creator)

Canticles: Collegium Regale (Howells)

Second Lesson: Ephesians 4 vv1-16

Anthem: One foot in Eden still, I stand (Maw)

Hymn: How shall I sing that majesty (Coe Fen)

Organ Voluntary: ‘Paean’ from Six Pieces for Organ (Howells)

Ralph Allwood (Music Director)

Alexander Ffinch (Organist)

 

Wed 3rd Sept

The Charles Wood Festival and Summer School at St Patrick's Church of Ireland Cathedral, Armagh - recorded Thurs 21st Aug

(rpt Sun 7th Sept)

Introit: Hymn to the Mother of God (Tavener)

Responses: Rose

Psalm: 18 (Gauntlett; Massey)

First Lesson: Jeremiah 17 vv5-18

Office Hymn: Alone with none but thee, my God (Emain Macha)

Magnificat: Collegium Regale (Tavener)

Second Lesson: Matthew 12 vv22-32

Nunc Dimittis: Wood in B flat

Lord’s Prayer: Tavener

Anthem: Expectans expectavi (Wood)

Final Hymn: Christ is the world’s redeemer (Moville)

Organ Voluntary: Toccata (Gowers)

David Hill (Music Director)

Philip Scriven (Organist)

 

Wed 10th Sept

Hereford Cathedral

(rpt Sun 14th Sept)

 

Wed 17th Sept

Royal Academy of Music Chamber Choir at Neresheim Abbey, Germany – recorded Fri 5th Sept

(rpt Sun 21st Sept)

 

Wed 24th Sept

Derby Cathedral

(rpt Sun 28th Sept)

 

Wed 1st Oct

Winchester College

(rpt Sun 5th Oct)

 

Wed 8th Oct

Westminster Cathedral

(rpt Sun 12th Oct)

 

Wed 15th Oct

Royal Holloway, University of London

(rpt Sun 19th Oct)

 

Wed 22nd Oct

Chelmsford Cathedral

(rpt Sun 26th Oct)

 

Wed 29th Oct

Royal School of Church Music Millennium Youth Choir at Gloucester Cathedral - recorded Sun 17th Aug

(rpt Sun 2nd Nov)

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss