Listen
On Now : Breakfast
Saturday - Martin Handley
BBC Radio 3
Choral Evensong

Choral Evensong

Long-running programme presenting live broadcasts of Evensong from around the country

For schedule details see below.

On radio

All upcoming (1 new and 2 repeats)

Future Choral Evensong Schedule

Wed 17th Sept

Choral Vespers from Neresheim Abbey, southern Germany, with the Royal Academy of Music Chamber Choir – recorded Fri 5th Sept

(rpt Sun 21st Sept)

Introit: Justorum animae (Lassus)

Psalms 110, 113, 122, 117 (Chant; Ortiz)

Reading: Wisdom 10 vv9-13

Responsorium: O viridissima virga (Hildegard of Bingen)

Homily: The Sub-Prior Revd Fr Gregor Hammes OSB

Office Hymn: Jesu, the virgins’ crown (Chant; Matthew Martin)

Magnificat octavi toni (Fischer; chant)

Lord’s Prayer: Farmer

Anthem: Selig sind die Toten (Schütz)

Hymn: Komm Herr, segne uns (Trautwein)

Organ Voluntary: ‘Little’ Praeludium in E minor (Bruhns)

Celebrant: The Very Revd Prior Fr Albert Knebel OSB

Conductor: Patrick Russill

Organists: Joseph Beech, Peter Holder, Michael Papadopoulos

 

Wed 24th Sept

Derby Cathedral

(rpt Sun 28th Sept)

Introit: Sicut cervus (Palestrina)

Responses: Andrew Carter

Office Hymn: Lord of beauty, thine the splendour (Regent Square)

Psalm: 119 vv1-32 (Hopkins; Heathcote; Martin; Bairstow)

First Lesson: Zechariah 7

Canticles: St Martin’s Service (Malcolm Archer)

Second Lesson: Mark 10 vv17-31

Anthems: Blessed City (Bairstow) & Locus iste (Bruckner)

Hymn: There’s a wideness in God’s mercy (Corvedale)

Organ Voluntary: Prelude and Fugue in D (Schmidt)

Peter Gould (Master of the Music)

Tom Corfield (Assistant Organist)

 

Wed 1st Oct

Winchester College

(rpt Sun 5th Oct)

Introit: O praise God in his holiness (Dyson)

Responses: Dyson arr Archer

Psalms: 6, 7, 8 (Hopkins; Cooke; Lawes)

First Lesson: Zechariah 12 vv1-10

Office Hymn: Holy Father, cheer our way (Kingsgate)

Canticles: Dyson in D

Second Lesson: Mark 11 vv27-33

Anthems: Hail, universal Lord (Dyson)

Hymn: Saviour, again to thy dear name we raise (Winton)

Organ Voluntary: Postlude (Dyson)

Malcolm Archer (Director of Chapel Music)

Jamal Sutton (Assistant Organist)

 

Wed 8th Oct

Westminster Cathedral

(rpt Sun 12th Oct)

 

Introit:  Sicut cervus (Palestrina)

Hymn:  Caeli Deus sanctissime (Plainsong)

Psalms:  Ps 125, 126 (Plainsong)

Canticle:  Colossians 1:12-20 (Plainsong)

Reading:  Ephesians 3:20-21

Magnificat sexti toni (Victoria)

Homily:  Fr Alexander Master

Motet:  Sitivit anima mea (Palestrina)

Antiphon:  Ave Virgo sanctissima (Guerrero)

Organ Voluntary:  Prelude in B minor, BWV 544 (Bach)   

Martin Baker (Master of Music)

Peter Stevens (Assistant Master of Music)

Benjamin Bloor (Organ Scholar)

 

Wed 15th Oct

Royal Holloway, University of London

(rpt Sun 19th Oct)

Introit:  Aspire to God my soul (David Bednall)

Responses:  Barry Ferguson

Psalm 119:81-104 (Hopkins; Elvey; Turle)

First Lesson:  Wisdom 7.7-15

Office hymn:  There is no moment of my life (My life in God)

Magnificat:  Finzi

Second Lesson:  John 14.1-7

Nunc dimittis:  Holst

Anthem:  I love the Lord (Harvey)

Motet:  Let nothing disturb thee (Barry Ferguson)

Hymn:  Fill thou my life (Richmond)

Organ Voluntary:  Deuxième Fantaisie (Alain)

 

Rupert Gough (Director of Choral Music)

James Kealey (Organ Scholar)

 

Wed 22nd Oct

Chelmsford Cathedral

(rpt Sun 26th Oct)

 

Wed 29th Oct

Royal School of Church Music Millennium Youth Choir at Gloucester Cathedral - recorded Sun 17th Aug

(rpt Sun 2nd Nov)

Introit:  Holy is the true light (Harris)

Responses:  Kerensa Briggs

Psalms 148, 150 (Stanford)

First lesson:  Isaiah 65.17-25

Canticles: Gloucester Service (Owain Park)

Second lesson:  Hebrews 11.32-12.2

Anthems:  We love the place, O God (Sumsion)

Justorum animae (Stanford)

Hymn:  For all the saints (Sine nomine)

Organ Voluntary:  Festivo (Ronald Corp)

 

David Ogden (Director of Music)

Daniel Moult (Organist)

 

Wed 5th Nov

a recording from the Choral Evensong archive

(rpt. Sun 9th Nov)

 

 

Wed 12th Nov

Durham Cathedral

(rpt. Sun 16th Nov)

 

 

Wed 19th Nov

Clare College, Cambridge

(rpt. Sun 23rd Nov)

 

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss