University Challenge former champions

University Challenge first began in 1962 when Granada Television took the bold step of introducing an intellectual quiz show which was rather less glitzy than the traditional game show formats that had gone before.

After its initial unexpected popularity, the programme was cut in 1987 due to low viewing figures, but was resurrected again by the BBC in 1994 with Jeremy Paxman installed as its new presenter.

Below are the past champions of University Challenge dating back to the very first show.

Original series - presenter - Bamber GascoigneNew series - presenter - Jeremy Paxman
1963 Leicester1995 Trinity College, Cambridge2018 St John's College, Cambridge
1965 New College, Oxford1996 Imperial College, London
1966 Oriel College, Oxford1997 Magdalen College, Oxford
1967 Sussex1998 Magdalen College, Oxford
1968 Keele1999 Open University
1969 Sussex2000 Durham
1970 Churchill College, Cambridge2001 Imperial College, London
1971 Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge2002 Somerville College, Oxford
1972 University College, Oxford2003 Birkbeck College, London
1973 Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge2004 Magdalen College, Oxford
1974 Trinity College, Cambridge2005 Corpus Christi College, Oxford
1975 Keble College, Oxford2006 Manchester
1976 University College, Oxford2007 Warwick
1977 Durham2008 Christ Church, Oxford
1978 Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge2009 Manchester
1979 Bradford2010 Emmanuel College, Cambridge
1980 Merton College, Oxford2011 Magdalen College, Oxford
1981 Queen's University, Belfast2012 Manchester
1982 St Andrews2013 Manchester
1983 Dundee2014 ´╗┐Trinity College, Cambridge
1984 Open University2015 Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge
1986 Jesus College, Oxford2016 Peterhouse College, Cambridge
1987 Keble College, Oxford2017 Balliol College, Oxford