All you need to know about the BBC New Comedy Award

The BBC Radio New Comedy Award is a nationwide talent search to find the best in new stand-up comedy talent.

Previous finalists include Alan Carr, Peter Kay, Lee Mack, Julian Barratt, Marcus Brigstocke, Russell Howard, Rhod Gilbert, David O’Doherty and Shappi Khorsandi.

The BBC New Comedy Award ran on BBC One from 1995 - 2003, with the final held in Edinburgh every year. In 2003 - 2005 it ran as a radio event on BBC Radio 4 Extra (formerly BBC Radio 7) and was replaced in 2005 with Show Me The Funny, which placed emphasis on the search for sketch writers. In 2011, BBC Radio 2 and BBC Radio Comedy revived the award, putting the spotlight back on seeking out the best new stand-up comedy talent with a new format and, for the first time, including audience interactivity. This year will feature heats on BBC Radio 4 Extra, with semi-finals and live final broadcast on BBC Radio 2.

Recent winners of the competition include Angela Barnes, Lucy Beaumont and Lost Voice Guy. Since winning the Radio New Comedy Award in 2013, Steve Bugeja has gone on to get agent representation, has supported Russell Kane on tour and is currently developing a pilot for BBC Radio Comedy.

Keep in touch

More from the BBC New Comedy Award