Press Office

Thursday 27 Nov 2014

Press Release

BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2010 shortlist unveiled

Ten sportsmen and women from across the United Kingdom, representing nine very different sports, make up the shortlist for BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2010 – to be broadcast on BBC One on Sunday 19 December, from 7-9pm.

This year, the live event will take place at Birmingham's LG Arena and is the biggest in the show's history.

The shortlist (in alphabetical order) is as follows:

Mark Cavendish
Tom Daley
Jessica Ennis
David Haye
AP McCoy
Graeme McDowell
Graeme Swann
Phil Taylor
Lee Westwood
Amy Williams

These 10 sportsmen and women (2010 highlights below) will now compete for the public vote on the night of the live show.

The public will be able to vote for their BBC Sports Personality of the Year by telephone – details of the numbers to vote on will be given out during the programme.

The shortlist of 10 contenders was put together by a panel of 30 sports editors from national and regional newspapers and magazines.

Details of the sports editors' votes can be seen on the Sports Personality website at at 7.30pm on 29 November.

The live show will be presented by Sue Barker, Gary Lineker and Jake Humphrey.

In addition to the main award of Sports Personality of the Year, there will also be awards for the following:

Team of the Year
Coach of the Year
Overseas Sports Personality of the Year
Lifetime Achievement
Helen Rollason Award
Young Sports Personality of the Year
Sports Unsung Hero

For voting criteria on all the awards, further information and updates, please visit the Sports Personality website.

For any picture requests from current BBC Programming please email, stating programme name, transmission date, deadline, intended usage and contact details. If you have access to our website to download pictures, please visit the BBC pictures website. Alternatively, you can fax 020 8008 3220 or call on 020 8008 3200.


Mark Cavendish

Once again Cavendish proved he is the one of the world's premier sprinters on the road as he clocked up an impressive five stage wins in this year's Tour de France.
The "Manx Missile" followed that up by winning the points jersey at the Tour of Spain in September, becoming the first Briton in 21 years to earn the sprinters' title at a Grand Tour.

While the Tour de France green jersey still eludes him, the 25-year-old looks primed for continued success amongst cycling's elite.

Tom Daley

Another year, another set of fantastic performances from teenager Tom, who added to his already bulging medal collection with two golds at the Commonwealth Games in Delhi.

After winning the 10m synchro event with partner Max Brick, the 16-year-old from Plymouth produced a series of sensational dives in the individual 10m platform final, beating Australia's Olympic champion Matt Mitcham to claim his second gold.

Having already won world, European and now Commonwealth titles, Daley will target continued success next year as he builds towards the London Olympics in 2012.

Jessica Ennis

Great Britain's golden girl was at it again in 2010, winning the heptathlon at the European Championships after dominating in Barcelona.

Ennis, who also claimed world indoor gold in the pentathlon back in March, led her rivals from start to finish in Spain to add the European title to the world championship crown she won in 2009.

Still only 24, the Sheffield superstar proved once again this year she is the one to beat and she will aim to stay one step ahead of the competition as the countdown to London 2012 continues.

David Haye

This year proved to be another knockout year for "The Hayemaker", with two successful defences of his world heavyweight title.

The WBA champion stopped American John Ruiz in April, before turning his attention to an all-British showdown with Audley Harrison in November.

In one of the most-hyped domestic bouts in years, Haye proved a class above his opponent – stopping Harrison in the third round after a blistering barrage of punches.

Haye now has his sights set on the Klitschko brothers as he bids to unify the heavyweight division before his self-imposed retirement deadline of October next year.

AP McCoy

The greatest jump jockey in history finally won the Grand National at the 15th attempt this year on Don't Push It.

It was the missing piece in the racing jigsaw for 36-year-old McCoy, who has been champion jockey a record 15 times in a row and has ridden over 3,000 winners in a glittering career.

His victory at Aintree in April prompted a flood of emotion, with trainer Jonjo O'Neill and racehorse owner JP McManus hailing the magnificent McCoy – whose CV now finally boasts winning the world's most famous horse race.

Graeme McDowell

McDowell became Europe's first US Open champion for 40 years when he clinched his maiden major title in impressive fashion at Pebble Beach.

The Northern Irishman's victory also made him the first player from the United Kingdom to win a major since Paul Lawrie at The Open in 1999.

To cap off a stunning year, the 31-year-old McDowell showed nerves of steel to win the final singles match at the Ryder Cup in October – thus earning the point which won back the trophy for Europe.

Graeme Swann

England's spin master continued to bamboozle opponents on the international cricket scene in 2010.

He produced brilliant displays in Test series against South Africa, Bangladesh and Pakistan and was England's leading wicket-taker in their World Twenty20 triumph against the old enemy Australia.

Now firmly established as the world's No. 1 spin bowler, and a handy batsman as well, Swann was named ECB Cricketer of the Year in May and is currently in Australia with the England Test team as they seek to retain the Ashes for the first time since 1987.

Phil Taylor

"The Power" has enjoyed a stunning year even by his own incredibly high standards, winning six major titles including the World Championship, Premier League and World Matchplay crowns.

The world No. 1, who has been crowned world champion an incredible 15 times, thrilled fans when he hit two nine-dart finishes on his way to securing a fifth Premier League title in May.

Now 50, the Stoke-on-Trent star remains the one to beat and his legacy as the greatest darts player in history is already secure.

Lee Westwood

Lee Westwood has been model of consistency this year. A regular top-10 tournament performer, Lee finished runner-up in both The Masters and The Open and became No. 1 in the official world golf rankings, knocking Tiger Woods off top spot. He also claimed a second career win on the US Tour with victory at the St Jude Classic in June.

But it wasn't just in individual tournaments where Lee shone – he led from the front to play a major role in Europe's Ryder Cup triumph over the United States in October.

Amy Williams

What a year for Amy Williams. Previously little known outside of her own sport, she became a national star overnight after winning Britain's first individual Winter Olympics gold medal for 30 years with victory in the women's skeleton.

The 28-year-old's performance was made even more remarkable by the fact she had no full skeleton track to train on in her home country.

Many accolades followed the gold medal for Williams – she was appointed an MBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours list and also became the first woman to be made an Honorary Freeman in her home city of Bath.


To top

Press releases by date:

Press release by:

Related web links

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.