Press Office

Wednesday 24 Sep 2014

Press Release

The White Stripes, Jay-Z, The Smiths, and Fatboy Slim in Zane Lowe's Masterpieces 2010 on Radio 1

Following its success over the past three years, Zane Lowe's Masterpieces returns to BBC Radio 1 from Monday 22 November (7-9pm).

Over four consecutive nights Zane dedicates his show to four albums he has crowned "musical masterpieces" for the way they altered the musical landscape at the time of their release.

The four Masterpieces albums/shows for 2010 are:

The White Stripes – Elephant (Monday 22 November)

Jay Z – The Black Album (Tuesday 23 November)

The Smiths – The Queen Is Dead (Wednesday 24 November)

Fatboy Slim – You've come along way baby (Thursday 25 November)

These four iconic albums will be played in their entirety from start to finish, unedited and uninterrupted.

Each show will include interviews with the artists and others involved in the making of the album, giving a fascinating insight into how they created their signature sounds. Zane also takes a look at how they have paved the way for other artists.

Previous Masterpieces have featured albums from amongst others: Metalllica, The Arctic Monkeys, Daft Punk, Public Enemy, The Prodigy and The Strokes.

Zane Lowes Masterpieces 2010, Monday 22 November-Thursday 25 November, 7-9pm on Radio 1.

Radio 1 is available on FM, DAB, Digital TV and online at


To top

Press releases by date:

Press release by:

Related Press Office links

Related BBC links

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.