Press Office

Wednesday 29 Oct 2014

Press Release

Crime writer PD James wins Nick Clarke Award 2010

Crime writer PD James was today announced as the winner of the Nick Clarke Award 2010 for her interview with BBC Director General Mark Thompson.

PD James appeared as a guest editor on the Today Programme last December. Her interview impressed the judges for its polite tone, sharpness and competence.

The author said: "The broadcast interview is one of the most effective ways in which the major issues of today's world can be discussed, and I am greatly honoured to be the recipient of this important prize established in memory of a distinguished broadcaster."

The Nick Clarke Award was created in honour of the hugely popular former presenter of BBC Radio 4's The World At One, who died in November 2006, to celebrate and recognise the best broadcast interview of the year.

Two other interviews particularly attracted the judges' attention.

Owen Bennett Jones revealed a hitherto unseen side of the veteran Northern Irish politician and former First Minister, Ian Paisley in the BBC World Service programme, The Interview. And SKY's Jeff Randall was commended for a courteous and informed interview with the then Chancellor, Alistair Darling.

Gwyneth Williams, Controller, Radio 4, said: "Nick Clarke had one of radio's most distinctive voices – much loved and missed by his audience. As always, the shortlist chronicles some of the best interviews in broadcasting over the past year."

Kevin Marsh, former Today programme editor, who sat on the final judging panel, added: "The judges were impressed by an extraordinarily broad range of entries, from global, UK, national and regional broadcasters, which reflected Nick Clarke's values and principles: polite, persistent, informed interviewing."

Notes to Editors

Panellists and judges of the Nick Clarke Award shortlist come from various media and broadcast organisations in the UK, including the BBC. The final judging panel consisted of Kevin Marsh, Gillian Reynolds and Peter Henessey.

The other interviews shortlisted for this year's award were:

Owen Bennett-Jones, The Interview, World Service, interviews Revd Ian Paisly.

Roy Jenkins, All Things Considered, BBC Radio Wales, interviews Tim Rhys Evans.

Andrew Hosken, The Today Programme, BBC Radio 4, interviews Dr Barry Walker.

Jeff Randall, Jeff Randall Live, Sky News, interviews Alistair Darling.

Olivia O'Leary, Between Ourselves, BBC Radio 4, interviews Julie.

Coakley and Jill Daley, two people who suddenly lost their sight.

Mark Lawson, Front Row, BBC Radio 4, interviews Russell Crowe.


To top

Press releases by date:

Press release by:

Related BBC links

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.