Press Office

Wednesday 29 Oct 2014

Press Releases

The Radio Amnesty: hear Radio 5 Live's summer of sport in digital quality and help children in Africa

BBC Radio 5 Live

The World Cup, Wimbledon and a Test Match Special summer of cricket including the visits of Pakistan, Bangladesh and Australia are all part of BBC Radio 5 Live's big summer of sport on digital radio.

Radio 5 Live and its sister digital station 5 Live Sports Extra will host the best coverage from across the world of sport, news and entertainment, and you can catch the action in digital quality sound, and support African development charities through the Radio Amnesty.

It's simple. Between Saturday 22 May and Saturday 26 June take your old analogue portable radio to one of the participating major high street retailers or your local independent dealer. Simply swap your old radio for a discount – from 10% off selected models of digital radios.

Your old analogue radios will be collected, cleaned and checked and then taken to South Africa to support projects for children in schools and hospitals. To find out more visit bbc.co.uk/5live or www.getdigitalradio.com.

Radio 5 Live Controller Adrian Van Klaveren said: "Digital radio is the best way to access an amazing summer of sport including the World Cup and cricket on 5 Live and 5 Live Sports Extra digital radio. The amnesty is a brilliant way to support a great cause in Africa. It illustrates the power of radio to provide essential information and entertainment."

Notes to Editors

5 Live broadcast schedule:

Cricket
Throughout 2010, coverage of Test cricket, One Day Internationals, and Twenty20 matches culminating with The Ashes in Australia in December.
Test Cricket
England v Bangladesh
Thursday 27 May – 1st Test from Lord's
Friday 4 June – 2nd Test from Manchester
England v Pakistan
Thursday 29 July – 1st Test from Trent Bridge
Friday 6 August – 2nd Test from Edgbaston
Wednesday 18 August – 3rd Test from the Oval
Thursday 26 August – 4th Test from Lord's

One Day International Cricket
NatWest One Day International Series
England v Australia
Tuesday 22 June – The Rose Bowl, Southampton
Sunday 27 June – The Swalec Stadium, Cardiff
Saturday 3 July – Old Trafford, Manchester
England v Bangladesh
Thursday 8 July – Trent Bridge, Nottingham
Saturday 10 July – The County Ground, Bristol
Monday 12 July – Edgbaston, Birmingham
England v Pakistan
Friday 17 September – The Brit Insurance Oval, London
Monday 20 September – Lord's, London
Wednesday 22 September – The Rose Bowl Southampton

Wimbledon
Monday 21 June – Sunday 4 July
Coverage throughout the day during the tournament, with Richard Bacon at 12noon and Clare Balding from 5pm live from Wimbledon every weekday afternoon. Expert punditry from Michael Stich, Pat Cash and Annabel Croft.

The 2010 FIFA World Cup
Friday 11 June – Sunday 11 July
Live coverage of every game at every ground at the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa.

The commentary team is led by 5 Live's Chief Football Correspondent Mike Ingham and Alan Green. Mark Pougatch and Mark Chapman will present World Cup 5 Live Sport throughout the tournament from South Africa with live commentary and the definitive guide to the World Cup.

Catch 5 Live World Cup Breakfast with Nicky Campbell, special shows from Danny Baker 9am and Wednesday nights from 9.30pm and Alan Davies Armchair World Cup (Sundays 11am-12noon.)

Premier League Football
From Sunday 15 August coverage of the most exciting league in the world.

Golf US Open
Thursday 17 June - Sunday 20 June

Rugby: Australia v England
Saturday 12 June 2010 – Perth
Saturday 19 June 2010 – Sydney

Radio 5 Live Weekday Schedule
6-10am, 5 Live Breakfast with Nicky Campbell and Shelagh Fogarty
10-12pm, Victoria Derbyshire
12noon-2pm, Gabby Logan
2-4pm, Richard Bacon
2-5pm, Fridays Kermode and Mayo
4-7pm, 5 Live Drive with Peter Allen and Aasmah Mir
7-10.30pm, 5 Live Sport

Radio 5 Live Saturday Schedule
6-9am, Weekend breakfast with Phil Williams and Rachel Burden
9-11am, Danny Baker
11am-12noon, Fighting Talk with Colin Murray
12noon, 5 Live sport from midday with Mark Pougtach

Radio 5 Live Sunday Schedule
6-8.30am, Weekend breakfast with Phil Williams and Rachel Burden
8.30-9.30am, Sportsweek with Garry Richardson
9.30-11am, Kate Silverton
11am-12noon, 7 Day Sunday with Chris Addison
11am-12noon from Sunday 6 June, Alan Davies Armchair World Cup

AB

To top

Press releases by date:

Press release by:

RSS feeds:

Related BBC links

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.