Press Office

Wednesday 24 Sep 2014

Press Releases

BBC Cymru Wales secures more than 30 Bafta Cymru nominations

BBC Cymru Wales has secured 31 nominations for Bafta Cymru's 19th Film, Television & Interactive Media Awards.

The prestigious nominations cover a total of 23 different categories of production, including Best Television Drama Series for Doctor Who and Torchwood; Best News & Current Affairs for One Family In Wales and Panorama – Save Our Steel; Best Interactive for the websites for Welsh Myths, Last Chance To See and The Sarah Jane Adventures; Best Factual Programme for Coming Home – John Prescott and Frontline Afghanistan; and Best Coverage of a Live Event for Scrum V Live, BBC Cardiff Singer Of The World and Eisteddfod Genedlaethol Meirion A'r Cyffiniau 2009.

Torchwood actress Eve Myles is also nominated as Best Actress and Huw Edwards is nominated as Best On-Screen Presenter for The Prince And The Plotter.

"This impressive number of nominations across such a broad range of categories is a real tribute to the extraordinarily talented people who make BBC Cymru Wales programmes," said BBC Cymru Wales director Menna Richards. "It is thanks to their dedication and passion for programme-making that BBC Cymru Wales enjoys such acclaim, both within Wales and beyond."

The full list of BBC Wales nominations is as follows:

Best Drama Series/Serial for Television
Doctor Who – The End Of Time: Part One (Tracie Simpson)
Torchwood – Children Of The Earth: Day One (Peter Bennett)

Best News & Current Affairs
One Family In Wales (Jayne Morgan, Karen Voisey)
Panorama – Save Our Steel (Jayne Morgan)

Best Factual Programme
Coming Home – John Prescott (Paul Lewis)
Frontline Afghanistan (Gareth Jones)

Best Music Programme
Bryn Terfel's Snowdonia – Closer To Home (Iwan Russell–Jones, Rhian Williams)

Best Children's Programme
The Sarah Jane Adventures – Prisoner of the Judoon (Nikki Smith)

Best Youth Programme
Perfect Summer (Catrin Rees, Sophie Fante, Erica Williams)

Best Interactive
Chwedlau Myrddin/Welsh Myths (BBC Cymru Wales, Preloaded)
Last Chance To See (Sian Davies, Anwen Aspden)
The Sarah Jane Adventures (Richard Jenkins, Anwen Aspden)

Best Director of Photography: Drama
Crash (Steve Buckland)

Best Camera: Not Drama
Top Dogs – Adventures In War, Sea And Ice: Polar (Wayne Derrick)

Best Sound
Torchwood – Children Of the Earth: Day One (Julian Howarth, Tim Ricketts, Doug Sinclair, Howard Eaves)

Best Editor
Torchwood – Children of the Earth: Day One (Will Oswald)

Best Lighting Director
Cyngerdd Ser Y Steddfod (Nigel Catmur)

Best Design
Doctor Who – The Waters Of Mars (Edward Thomas)
Merlin (Dominic Roberts)

Best Titles
Top Dogs – Adventures In War, Sea And Ice (BBC Cymru Wales Graphic Design Department)

Best Costume
Torchwood – Children Of The Earth: Day One (Ray Holman)

Best Make-Up
Doctor Who – The End Of Time: Part One (Barbara Southcott)

Best Coverage of a Live Event
BBC Cardiff Singer Of The World (Paul Bullock)
Eisteddfod Genedlaethol Meirion A'r Cyffiniau 2009 (Jonathan Davies)
Scrum V Live (Huw Tal)

Best Screenwriter
Torchwood – Children Of The Earth: Day One (Russell T Davies)

Best Original Music Soundtrack
Torchwood – Children Of The Earth: Day One (Ben Foster)

Best Director: Film/Drama
Merlin (Jeremy Webb)

Best Director
Last Chance To See – Manatee (Tim Green)

Best Actress
Torchwood – Children Of The Earth: Day One (Eve Myles)

Best On-Screen Presenter
The Prince And The Plotter (Huw Edwards)

The winners will be anounced at the Bafta Cymru Awards ceremony on Sunday 23 May at Wales Millennium Centre.


To top

Press releases by date:

Press release by:

RSS feeds:

Related BBC links

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.