Press Office

Wednesday 24 Sep 2014

Press Releases

Radio 2 Folk Awards winners announced

Dick Gaughan

Performances from Nanci Griffith, Dick Gaughan and The Transatlantic Sessions were among the many highlights of the 11th annual BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards, hosted by Mike Harding.

The evening of live music on Monday 1 February 2010 – one of the highlights in the folk music calendar – celebrated the folk world's achievements of the past 12 months and saw Grammy Award-winning Nanci Griffith accept a Lifetime Achievement Award from Radio 2's Bob Harris, before performing The Loving Kind, the title song from her latest album.

Neil Finn, of Split Enz and Crowded House fame, presented Dick Gaughan with the evening's second Lifetime Achievement Award before Gaughan was joined on stage by Jerry Douglas and Tim O'Brien to perform Both Sides The Tweed.

Bob Shennan, Controller, Radio 2, says: "Radio 2 is committed to a rich and diverse range of music and the Radio 2 Folk Awards are a fantastic way to showcase such a well-loved and thriving musical genre."

Folk Singer Of The Year went to Jon Boden, who accepted the award from actress Zoe Wanamaker. Jon also presented The Magpie's Nest in London with Folk Club Of The Year.

Squeezebox player John Kirkpatrick was named Musician Of The Year. Eddie Upton, Director of Folk South West, accepted the award from actor Greg Wise on Kirkpatrick's behalf.

Eliza Carthy presented Lau with Best Group, an award they have won for the third consecutive year.

And singer/songwriter Benny Gallagher presented Cara Dillon with Album Of The Year for the critically acclaimed Hill Of Thieves.

Arrogance Ignorance And Greed, written by Steve Knightley and performed by Show Of Hands, was named Best Original Song. This award was presented by poet Ian McMillan.

Show of Hands, winners of Best Live Act in 2004, were named Best Duo by musician and BBC 6 Music presenter Tom Robinson, and also performed on the night.

Nanci Griffith

Best Live Act was presented to Bellowhead by actor Kevin Whately.

And Nitin Sawhney presented guitarist Sam Carter with the Horizon Award for folk's best emerging artist.

Martin Simpson was presented with Best Traditional Track for Sir Patrick Spens by fellow musician Richard Hawley. Simpson also performed as did Lau; Adrian Edmondson & The Bad Shepherds, who played a cover of I Fought The Law; and Cara Dillon.

The Good Tradition Award, presented by Dan Tyminski, went to Mike Alexander and Douglas Eadie, producers of the legendary BBC TV Transatlantic Sessions, who were joined on stage to accept their Award by Aly Bain and Jerry Douglas.

The Transatlantic Sessions closed the evening with two songs, Man Of Constant Sorrow (from the hit film O Brother Where Art Thou?) with Dan Tyminski on lead vocals, and Spencer The Rover with Cara Dillon on lead vocals. The full band line-up consisted of Jerry Douglas, Aly Bain, Dan Tyminski, Tim O'Brien, Cara Dillon, Russ Barenburg, Mike McGoldrick, Donald Shaw, John McCusker and Andy Seward.

The Radio 2 Folk Awards took place last night, Monday 1 February, at The Brewery, London EC1.

Highlights of the 11th Radio 2 Folk Awards can be heard on Radio 2 on Wednesday 3 February at 7.00pm.

Performance video, extensive features and a photo gallery can be found at

Notes to Editors

The 2010 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards winners are as follows:

Folk Singer Of The Year: Jon Boden

Best Duo: Show of Hands

Best Group: Lau

Best Album: Hill of Thieves – Cara Dillon

Best Original Song: Arrogance Ignorance and Greed – Steve Knightley (performed by Show of Hands)

Best Traditional Track: Sir Patrick Spens – Martin Simpson

Horizon Award: Sam Carter

Musician Of The Year: John Kirkpatrick

Best Live Act: Bellowhead

Lifetime Achievement Award: Nanci Griffith

Lifetime Achievement Award: Dick Gaughan

Good Tradition Award: The Transatlantic Sessions

Folk Club Of The Year: The Magpie's Nest, London


To top

Press releases by date:

Press release by:

RSS feeds:

Related BBC links

Related web links

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.