Press Office

Wednesday 24 Sep 2014

Press Releases

A Question Of Sport celebrates the Big 40

A Question Of Sport 40th anniversary: Matt Dawson, Sue Barker and Phil Tufnell (image: BBC/Jim Marks)

A Question Of Sport is to celebrate its 40th birthday in January 2010 making it the longest-running and most popular sports quiz in British TV history.

Presenter Sue Barker and team captains Matt Dawson and Phil Tufnell are in the party mood as they mark this landmark occasion with a special episode on Friday 8 January at 8.30pm on BBC One.

Some of the biggest names in British and international sport have appeared on the programme since its early days, and joining the show in its milestone anniversary are sporting superstars Michael Johnson, Laura Davies, Pat Cash and David Coulthard.

All the regular rounds feature – including Picture Board, Sports Action, What Happened Next?, Home Or Away, Mystery Guest and The One Minute Round – plus a celebratory blend of archive and nostalgia capturing some of the great moments from the programme from the last 40 years.

Matt Dawson and Phil Tufnell are faced with their former selves when their first appearances on the show as contestants are revealed – dodgy hair cuts and all – and try to answer their original home questions.

A Question Of Sport is just past its 890th episode and in its 39th series.

The current series has an average of 3.6 million viewers.

Sue Barker says: "It's a pleasure and a privilege to work on such a fantastic programme and to be part of this remarkable occasion."

Caroline Roberts-Cherry, executive producer, says: "Everyone currently working on the production of this most-loved show is thrilled to be part of such a landmark anniversary."

Notes to Editors

There will be a special edition of A Question Of Sport in aid of Sports Relief later in the year on BBC One.

A short history of A Question Of Sport

The first A Question Of Sport aired on 5 January 1970 and was hosted by David Vine.

The first team captains were boxer Henry Cooper and Wales rugby union star Cliff Morgan. They were joined by George Best, Ray Illingworth, Lillian Board and Tom Finney.

In four decades the show has only had three presenters: David Vine, David Coleman and current presenter Sue Barker.

Current captains Matt Dawson and Phil Tufnell took over the captaincy reigns from Frankie Dettori in September 2004 and from Ally McCoist in February 2008 respectively.


To top

Press releases by date:

Press release by:

RSS feeds:

Related BBC links

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.