Press Office

Wednesday 24 Sep 2014

Press Releases

Last Of The Summer Wine recommissioned for

L-R: Brian Murphy, Russ Abbot and Bert Kwouk

Last Of The Summer Wine, the world's longest-running sitcom, has been recommissioned for a further six half-hours by Jay Hunt, Controller, BBC One, and Lucy Lumsden, former Controller, Comedy Commissioning.

Filming will take place this summer, in and around the Yorkshire town of Holmfirth, for transmission in 2010.

The series, which is a whimsical comedy about people in the autumn of their years, is written by Roy Clarke and stars Peter Sallis as Norman Clegg alongside several other eminent cast members including Russ Abbot (Hobbo), Frank Thornton (Truly), Brian Murphy (Alvin), June Whitfield (Nelly) and Burt Kwouk (Entwistle).

Mark Freeland, Head of Comedy at the BBC, said: "I am pleased that Roy Clarke's much loved and unique comedy is once more returning to BBC One."

Writer Roy Clarke said: "It's like going home again."

The series is written by Roy Clarke and produced and directed by Alan J W Bell.

Last Of The Summer Wine has clocked up more than 30 series. The series debuted on the BBC in 1973.


To top

Press releases by date:

Press release by:

RSS feeds:

Related BBC links

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.