Press Office

Wednesday 29 Oct 2014

Press Releases

Steve Winwood and Lord David Puttnam present Lifetime Achievement Awards to James Taylor and Judy Collins at Radio 2 Folk Awards; Chris Wood wins Folk Singer of the Year and Album of the Year

James Taylor performs at the Radio 2 Folk Awards

The hugely influential careers of singer-songwriters Judy Collins and James Taylor were celebrated last night at the 10th BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards where they each received a Lifetime Achievement Award.

After accepting her award from Lord (David) Puttnam, Collins sang her version of Joni Mitchell's Both Sides Now.

Taylor was presented with his award by fellow musician Steve Winwood before performing Carolina In My Mind.

Chris Wood, who also performed, was named Folk Singer Of The Year and was presented by Rob Brydon with the award for Album Of The Year for Trespasser.

Other winners on the night included:

Andy Partridge, who won Best Original Song for All You Pretty Girls. Jim Moray collected the award on Partridge's behalf and performed his own version of the song.

Fiddle singer Jackie Oates was presented with The Horizon Award for best emerging artist by Linda Thompson and won Best Traditional Track for Lark In The Morning; and Tom McConville was named Musician Of The Year.

Folk Club Of The Year went to The Black Swan Folk Club in York.

Lau won Best Group for the second year running.

Live music also came from Seth Lakeman; Ralph McTell and Bert Jansch – who paid tribute to the late Davy Graham; Chris While & Julie Matthews, who were named Best Duo; and music and dance outfit The Demon Barbers, who won Best Live Act.

Award presenters included Ade Edmondson, Seth Lakeman, Harry Shearer, Barbara Dickson, John Tams, Mel Giodroyc and Simon Emmerson.

The awards took place last night at The Brewery in London (Monday 2 February 2009).

Extended highlights of the awards are broadcast on Radio 2 tomorrow night, Wednesday 4 February 2009, from 7.00pm.

Extensive online features and a photo gallery are available at

Judy Collins performs at the Radio 2 Folk Awards

BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2009 winners

  • Folk Singer of the Year: Chris Wood
  • Best Duo: Chris While & Julie Matthews
  • Best Group: Lau
  • Album of the Year: Trespasser – Chris Wood
  • Best Original Song : All You Pretty Girls – Andy Partridge (performed by Jim Moray)
  • Best Traditional Track: Lark in the Morning – Jackie Oates
  • Horizon Award: Jackie Oates
  • Musician of the Year: Tom McConville
  • Best Live Act: The Demon Barbers
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: James Taylor
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Judy Collins
  • Folk Club of the Year: The Black Swan Folk Club, York

Radio 2 Publicity

To top

Press releases by date:

Press release by:

RSS feeds:

Related BBC links

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.