Press Office

Wednesday 29 Oct 2014

Press Releases

Your country doesn't need you! Emperors of Soul's Eurovision dreams are over

Emperors of Soul

Emperors of Soul's Eurovision dreams are over as they become the third act to be eliminated from BBC One's Eurovision: Your Country Needs You.

After a public vote, Jade and Emperors of Soul were the least popular hopefuls and Andrew Lloyd Webber decided to save Jade. So Emperors of Soul are the third act to leave the competition.

In Saturday's live show, all four hopefuls performed Lulu's winning Eurovision entry Boom Bang-A-Bang, as well as solo renditions of contemporary songs chosen to show viewers that they have the nerve, skill and sheer determination to represent the UK in Moscow.

This week each act had the challenge of singing two songs – an upbeat number and a ballad. After performing their songs – and receiving feedback from Andrew Lloyd Webber, Lulu and Emma Bunton – the hopefuls faced a nervous wait as the public cast their vote.

Alesha Dixon also performed her new single, Breathe Slow.

As votes were counted, the Eurovision wannabes were split into two groups, of male and female, and each performed a group number.

It was their last chance to shine before host Graham Norton revealed the two acts that had the least amount of public votes and went into the "danger zone".

Jade and Emperors of Soul gained the least amount of votes. Then it was up to Andrew Lloyd Webber alone to choose who should be saved for another week and put through to the live final.

Andrew Lloyd Webber said: "What I said about you guys earlier is absolutely what I believe, which is that I think you've got the most fantastic career as a cabaret act. I think you can work for a very long time if not for ever as an incredible group."

Emperors of Soul said: "We worked hard on our performance all week and what's more we really enjoyed it tonight. We did what we intended to do throughout the whole of the series and we've got to say we are proud of ourselves."

Safe for another week were Mark, Jade and the twins, Francine and Nicola. The remaining three acts go on to next week's grand final where they will again perform for the nation.

The public vote will decide who will be the UK entry in the Eurovision Song Contest extravaganza being held in Moscow in May 2009.

Notes to Editors

Songs performed

All acts – Boom Bang-A-Bang (Lulu)

Mark – Rock Your Body (Justin Timberlake) and I Don't Want To Talk About It (Rod Stewart)

Jade – All By Myself (Celine Dion) and Think (Aretha Franklin)

Emperors of Soul – Patience (Take That) and Uptown Girl (Billy Joel)

Francine & Nicola – About You Now (Sugababes) and All I Have To Do Is Dream (The Everly Brothers)

All male acts – Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Me (Elton John)

All female acts – I'll Stand By You (Girls Aloud)

The live final of Eurovision: Your Country Needs You is on BBC One on Saturday 31 January 2009, at 6.40pm.


To top

Press releases by date:

Press release by:

RSS feeds:

Related web links

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.