BBC HomeExplore the BBC

29 July 2014
Accessibility help
Text only
Press Office
Search the BBC and Web
Search BBC Press Office

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!


Press Releases

Radio Cymru schedule changes

BBC Radio Cymru today announced a new schedule which will be launched in the autumn.


The changes will see a new morning show presented by Camp Lawn's Eleri Sin and Daf Du from Radio Cymru's youth strand C2 and they will be followed by Nia Roberts who will welcome listeners to her new programme until lunchtime.


Jonsi's popular show will move from its current morning slot to strengthen the afternoon line-up each weekday afternoon.


Hywel Gwynfryn, whose voice was the first to be heard on Radio Cymru, is to cement his role as "ambassador for Radio Cymru" by reporting from communities throughout Wales and contributing to programmes across the station's schedule.


The revamped schedule is designed to respond to the demands of audiences across Wales and to extend Radio Cymru's reach among listeners.


Following a review of the schedule, a number of programmes will come to an end including the south west Wales regional opt-out programmes.


"Our aim is to create a truly national, Wales-wide station that reflects local communities throughout Wales," explains Radio Cymru Editor Sian Gwynedd.


"Using some of our most experienced presenters, we will bring stories and programmes from all parts of Wales together, making the local national and the national local.


"Radio Cymru exists and needs to thrive in a multimedia world where listening patterns change continuously. Downloading podcasts, catching up with programmes through the listen again services and increased use of our website all mean that we have to respond effectively to the audience's demands.


"Jonsi will strengthen our afternoon schedule, and the popular radio and television presenter Eleri Sin along with the well-known Daf Du, will provide a Wales-wide appeal to our morning show.


"We are confident that the changes made will improve our performance and strengthen our appeal and we are looking forward to launching the new line-up in the autmn."


Summary of changes:


08:30 - 10:30 Daf Du and Eleri Siôn
10:30 - 12.00 Nia Roberts
12:00 – 13:15 Taro'r Post
13:15 - 14:00 Various
14:00 - 17:00 Jonsi









Category: Wales
Date: 04.07.2008
Printable version

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy